Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Top Flite Smart Stripe

Reply

Old 09-07-2010, 06:41 PM
  #1  
Oberst
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lacona, NY
Posts: 1,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Top Flite Smart Stripe

The directions are terrible on exactly how my #11 blade is supposed to fit into the blade holder inset. I called Top Flite and the said they didn't have one on hand to help me out with it. If anyone has one, can one of you explain how the blade goes in it? Does the blade holder screw go through the hole on the back of the blade? I'm lost!


Pete
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo39677.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	12.4 KB
ID:	1497008  
Oberst is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 06:56 PM
  #2  
davidgeorge212
 
davidgeorge212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Trussville, AL
Posts: 1,557
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Smart Stripe

Yes, I have one and I think you do half to take out both of those thumb screws on the side. Then you half to pry the two plastic peices apart a little bit and stick the blade down in between them. There are some pins I think the blade fits into or on to. Then you just screw those two thumb screws back in to tighten the blade up from moving.
davidgeorge212 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 07:09 PM
  #3  
Oberst
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lacona, NY
Posts: 1,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Smart Stripe

I'm sorry, that description doesn't work for me - and the pictures are all different, so I can't tell how it goes together. There's a small nub/pin that snaps the two parts together, but if I put the blade on that and then close it with the screws, it's too long and doesn't stay still - the screws are too large to fit through the hole of the #11 blade.

I called the manufacturer and they were about as helpful as mammary glands on a bull, if you know what I mean.

Does someone have a picture of the blade assembly so I can see how it goes together? I'm a visual person, not a textual person.

NVM, I figured it out. The online manual had a better picture that I didn't see before that showed how the blasted thing goes in.

Nice directions... not.
Oberst is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 07:18 PM
  #4  
big max 1935
Senior Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: huron s.d.
Posts: 2,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Smart Stripe

The blade rests on the screws. The outer screw is on top of the blade & the inner is on the bottom . That help? Max H.
big max 1935 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 07:25 PM
  #5  
davidgeorge212
 
davidgeorge212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Trussville, AL
Posts: 1,557
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Smart Stripe

I havent used mine in a while so I was going off memory. It just seemed like, to me, this smart stripe tool wears the blade out to fast and it will start to wonder and make wavy stripes.
davidgeorge212 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 07:30 PM
  #6  
Oberst
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lacona, NY
Posts: 1,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Smart Stripe

I have more blades than I can count, so I'm not concerned about blade wear.

The manual stank, but I managed to figure it out - they really don't show how it goes in, and like I said, I'm visual, not textual - I have to see a picture of it in order for me to get it.

But I got it.
Oberst is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 06:24 AM
  #7  
Oberst
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lacona, NY
Posts: 1,840
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Smart Stripe


ORIGINAL: big max 1935

The blade rests on the screws. The outer screw is on top of the blade & the inner is on the bottom . That help? Max H.

That's how I have it, I thank you all very much for everyones attempt to help me out. I just tried it out by cutting a 1/2" stripe, WOW![X(] It came out perfect. If I cut this by hand it would have taken me 3x's as long to get it cut out by using a steel ruler. With the Smart Stripe I cut my strip in a few minutes. This is a very good investment for anyones hanger. JMHO


Pete
Oberst is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 07:42 AM
  #8  
smithcreek
My Feedback: (25)
 
smithcreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Westerly, RI
Posts: 1,064
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Smart Stripe

ORIGINAL: Oberst

That's how I have it, I thank you all very much for everyones attempt to help me out. I just tried it out by cutting a 1/2'' stripe, WOW![X(] It came out perfect. If I cut this by hand it would have taken me 3x's as long to get it cut out by using a steel ruler. With the Smart Stripe I cut my strip in a few minutes. This is a very good investment for anyones hanger. JMHO
I bought one a while back and when I opened the box I thought "what a cheap piece of crap" but after using it was sold. Chintzy little piece of junk or not, it does a great job.
smithcreek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 07:46 AM
  #9  
WCB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Piedmont area, NC
Posts: 1,017
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Smart Stripe

The ones I've seen you spent more time changing blades and setting it up than you would have cutting them with a straight edge to begin with.
WCB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 05:37 PM
  #10  
Hab
 
Hab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 134
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Smart Stripe

.....and the "pin" your talking about on it...goes threw the "slotted " portion of the blade....in order to be able too adjust the blade. Top screw is the stop
in which the blade rests against ( top side of the blade of course) to keep it from pushing out while cutting....bottom is the clamp portion
of the piece....as well as the top screw. (Blade does not go threw this one either)

Works great for me.....simple piece....but who's got the time to start fabbing one up, for the amount of striping jobs being done.

Think it cost me under $20 bucks for it.......20 min. to assemble. EASY....and cheap. N' it works.
{ hey there SmithCreek.....how's it going? Haven't been out to the field inna cupplah weeks....trying too
got other things going......been working on the "Chippy" though.}
Hab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 06:00 PM
  #11  
Hab
 
Hab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Warwick, RI
Posts: 134
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Smart Stripe


ORIGINAL: Oberst

The directions are terrible on exactly how my #11 blade is supposed to fit into the blade holder inset. I called Top Flite and the said they didn't have one on hand to help me out with it. If anyone has one, can one of you explain how the blade goes in it? Does the blade holder screw go through the hole on the back of the blade? I'm lost!


Pete
Blade goes between both crews.......one on top ....is the stop for the blade (top side of blade..of course) "Pin" your talking about goes
through the "slotted" hole portion of the blade. Screws are just the binding portion of the clamp. Neither screw goes threw the blade.

Yes....... as Smithcreek said......cheap piece.....but who's got the time to start "fabbing" up a simple item.
Think it cost me under $20......and 15 min. to assemble. Works for me. Quick 'n cheap........works great.

[Oh by the way.....what's happening there Smithcreek? Haven't had the time to make it out in the past cupplah weeks. M' I missing anything?
Been working on the "Chippy" ........yep.....almost. Fuse is done - covered ; decorated......just the wing to be covered. That's it......
and a few other odds and ends.....break-in the YS.....few tanks.... n' I'll be down with it. (Try to be anyway)
Hab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 06:13 PM
  #12  
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Smart Stripe

Some blades are a bit different too, here is how I set mine up, front screw is through the blade slot and then the blade is resting on that little pin behind it. Key to this machine is to make it tight!! Mine is very tight but I can cut 1/32 stripes and smaller without any problems. Bipeguy put me onto this machine a couple of years ago, I finally found one at a club auction for next to nothing and have gone nuts with it. You can even cut tape for paint masking. Very cool tool!! I do sharpen my blades with a stone and strop so they are a lot sharper then what you buy and they last forever!!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ro42045.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	119.5 KB
ID:	1506626   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zu65218.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	110.3 KB
ID:	1506627  
Gray Beard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 08:37 PM
  #13  
da Rock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Smart Stripe

ORIGINAL: Oberst

I have more blades than I can count, so I'm not concerned about blade wear.

The manual stank, but I managed to figure it out - they really don't show how it goes in, and like I said, I'm visual, not textual - I have to see a picture of it in order for me to get it.

But I got it.

Would you be so kind as to take a picture of what you wanted a picture of, and post it for others who aren't textual?

OH WAIT..... GRAYBEARD did everyone that favor.
da Rock is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service