RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Questions and Answers (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/)
-   -   Wing Incidence experts, need your help,,, (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/11596934-wing-incidence-experts-need-your-help.html)

raron455 03-30-2014 02:58 PM

Wing Incidence experts, need your help,,,

2 Attachment(s)
I am still learning, and want to seek some advice,,
I have a great planes pitts that I am flying, this is my 3rd one and it flies terrible compared to the others. So I figure it is a thrust alignment issue or wing incidence. I decided to check the wing incidences.
First I set the plane on the level ground, then propped the plane up on a box until it looked like it was perfectly level. I then put my incidence meter on it and got the numbers,,
I do not know much about wing incidence and do not know what the numbers are supposed to be, these numbers may be fine, or may be terrible, that is why I am asking for help. And any help advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks fellas

Top Wing +3 degrees
Bottom Wing +1 degrees
Horizontal Stab +2 degrees I used some clamps and wood to hold the elevator flush with the stab while I took the reading

took a couple of pics to show how I was doing it,,

dbacque 03-30-2014 05:27 PM

Could you describe "flies terrible"? What is the problem?

I have no experience with this particular model but a degree or so of incidence increase of the top wing over the bottom wing is pretty standard stuff with conventional wing stagger. Top wing stalls first, bottom wing still lifting now is nose heavy, nose drops and prevents unwanted snap.

When you checked the incidence, did you also test for wing twist? Check that the incidence at each wing tip matches the incidence of that wing at the root.

Dave

rt3232 03-30-2014 07:03 PM

raron455