RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Questions and Answers (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/)
-   -   Smoke 101 (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/11644482-smoke-101-a.html)

tailskid 01-28-2018 04:37 PM

Smoke 101

4 Attachment(s)
Never bothered to put smoke on a plane before, but the H9 RV-4 just has too much room NOT to :) so I have a couple of questions:

DLE35RA Muffler doesn't have a smoke fitting, so I guess that will require putting one in....Question: What fitting do I use? A typical pressure nipple from a regular muffler? If not, where does one get one?

Second question: Where should I place that fitting? Right between the two muffler exhaust pipes?

Last question: What is a good smoke oil to use?

Thanks for the help guys!

Jerry

BarracudaHockey 01-29-2018 06:40 AM

I'm no expert on smoke mufflers but i can tell you what works for me so far in regards to oil.

I use Robart smoke fluid for my reviews that use smoke. It is thick and stays tight longer than anything I've tried.

The other option is aero cumulus smoke fluid, I tried to get some for review but they wouldn't play but I have friends that use it and swear by it.

tailskid 01-29-2018 04:32 PM

Oops, I think you put one on the Escapade MX instead...my bad......

BarracudaHockey 01-30-2018 04:49 AM

Escapade and now the Phoenix Waco 60cc, you will be seeing that in a few weeks, Im dying to post pictures.

tailskid 01-30-2018 09:36 AM

I found a connection for smoke oil....it is the same oil used by the Blue Angels....can't wait to try it!

BarracudaHockey 01-30-2018 12:23 PM

They use Super Dri if memory serves?

tailskid 01-30-2018 12:49 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Here is where I plan on putting the smoke tank - almost on the CG and put the fuel tank in the lower hatch region.....whatya think?

Pylonracr 01-30-2018 08:27 PM

Smoke tank on the CG is a great idea...
Yes, the Blue Angles use Super Dri.