RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Questions and Answers (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/)
-   -   Landing Advice (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/3559194-landing-advice.html)

poppy2 11-16-2005 05:49 PM

Landing Advice

There was recently a thread here titled "Taking Off Advice". It had some excellent advice by many people who have mastered the hobby. It has been viewed by about a 1000 people and about 50 responded. As a novice, I know that I sure learned much from it. After having read it , I can take off where as before I couldn't.

How about doing the same thing with landing? For those of you that can land a plane with ease, what tips can you give a novice on landing his trainer? Thank you in advance.

Poppy2

2slow2matter 11-16-2005 06:19 PM

RE: Landing Advice

When I was first flying, I got some instruction, but then one day I was just out flying with a buddy. After about 10 or so minutes, I told him "you know eventually you're going to have to help me land this thing." He laughed. but, what he had me to do helped me tremendously. We walked out to the edge of the runway, and I brought the plane toward the runway. What he said that helped so much was to move the aileron stick toward the low wing. So, in other words, everytime a wing started to dip, to move the aileron stick that direction until it leveled back up. That was probably the biggest thing I had to overcome--learning how to correct the roll during landing--which is when the controls are always reversed. And, when you are only feet off the ground, you certainly don't want to roll it the wrong way!

I don't know if it's adviseable for a newbie to fly a plane toward them while standing at the edge of the runway, but it worked for me. Soon after that, I was backing farther and farther away from the runway until I was landing it from behind the fence.