RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Questions and Answers (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/)
-   -   Saito 100 questions (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/7390749-saito-100-questions.html)

JamesDL 04-18-2008 07:13 PM

Saito 100 questions

Hi all-

I am building a Sig 4* 60, and I will probably have the winning bid on ebay for a brand new Saito 100. Since I am a beginner I am going to start with an O.S. Surpass 70 in it, then once I've gotten to know the plane, I will put the big Saito in. I talked to people in my club about these engines, and everyone gave very positive opinions of the OS Surpass, but extremely negative opinions of the Saito. They told me it vibrates a lot, idles too fast, and stalls often. Also that it is not a beginners engine?

From what I've read on the forums, if properly broken in and tuned correctly and it will run beautifully. Is this the case? Is there anything wrong with this engine? Where can I find detailed information about the best way to break in and tune the engine? I'm planning to set up an engine bench mount so that I can break in engines on the bench before mounting them on my planes.

Thanks,
James

Nathan King 04-18-2008 08:16 PM

RE: Saito 100 questions

I've had nothing but great experiences with both OS and Saito both are excellent engines. I would install the Saito if that's what you plan on using down the road anyway. The thought that four strokes or Saito engines in particular are difficult to tune are just that... myths, that for some reason continue to persist. I find Saitos to be no more difficult than OS to tune. In fact, I've never had my Saitos quit on me besides running them out of gas twice. Me loosing track of flight time is hardly the engine's fault. [)]

Oh, and my Saitos idle like a fine watch at 1900 RPM.

fredscz 04-18-2008 08:26 PM