RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Questions and Answers (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/)
-   -   Best fuel for inverted engines (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/9913826-best-fuel-inverted-engines.html)

andrewskj 08-05-2010 07:36 PM

Best fuel for inverted engines

I have been flying a u can do for three years now and had soooo much problems keeping the engine running until I switched to power master 15 % it says it has 18 % oil I use full synthetic and my engine has run great for last three years now power master is out of business and I need to get another brand of fuel . Is there any fuel that comes close to power master synthetis 18 % oil . Most of the fuels don't even give you the oil amount. I am sure that was what made my engine run great . What a shame a great fuel company has gone out of business. Any help or suggestions as to the best replacement would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you ,
Ken

timcat26 08-05-2010 08:11 PM

RE: Best fuel for inverted engines

I use Cool Power 15% in my UCD 60 with an inverted Magnum 91 FS. It works well for me.

JohnBuckner 08-05-2010 08:27 PM

Andrew if what you were using before was the common Powermaster 15/18% blend that both Hobby People stores sold there then it was not all synthetic but of that 18% synthetic oil there was a small percentage of castor oil perhaps 1 to 3%. Can,t recall the exact amount.

John

Charlie P. 08-05-2010 08:49 PM

I burn S&W 15%N in my inverted glow and Hess 87 octane (w/10% ethanol like it or not) and a 40:1 Husqvarna LS and Marvel oil mix in my inverted gassers.

Switch to a hotter glow plug or one with an idle bar if your engine doesn't like to run inverted. It's probably not the oil, it's the ignition. The 15% nitro helps that.

Jetdesign 08-05-2010 09:05 PM

Lithium.

I just had to[&:]

Gray Beard 08-05-2010 09:15 PM