R/C Sky Diving Discuss all aspects of r/c sky diving and divers here!

skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

Reply
Old 07-04-2011, 01:38 PM
  #1
edge_pilot
Thread Starter
 
edge_pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lagrange, OH
Posts: 734
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

Well we got in another drop today. My skydiver is now equipped with an altimeter. Drop altitude was 2290 feet [X(] , and no thats not from sea level. Very windy so we didn't try a second jump. The diver was also wearing an onboard camera, but something didn't go well there and it never recorded any video.
edge_pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 09:03 PM
  #2
GaryV
 
GaryV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stuarts Draft, VA
Posts: 422
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

Hi Dave,

That sounds like a pretty high drop. I bought an Eagle Tree system for my drop plane over a year ago and still haven't got it installed.
Maybe I will get it in before the upcoming Muncie rally.
Just guessing I never thought any of my drops were over 1000 ft.

Are you going to make the Muncie Rally in September?

Gary V
GaryV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 02:53 AM
  #3
edge_pilot
Thread Starter
 
edge_pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lagrange, OH
Posts: 734
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

Hey Gary,

Yes the drop was definately not the normal. Usually we like to see when the diver leaves the plane.

It looks good so far to be at the Muncie rally. I will know better after IRCHA if my son can get time off work. My brother is in Maryland now so I know he will not be attending.

I had the Hitec telemetery in my jump plane, but the GPS unit is really crappy. The altimeter was not accurate at all with that unit so we scrapped that idea. Not sure about the Eagle tree, haven't read into it much.
edge_pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 03:26 AM
  #4
broodwa
 
broodwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: OudtshoornWestern Cape, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 74
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

Hi Dave,

That's cool, the highest we have gone was 817m (2680 ft) and did a freefall of 40.3 seconds!! We used the Eagle Tree altimeter attached to the diver for that jump. I still want to repeat this with my Visio* attached to skydiver and see what stats we can get.

Camera footage would be nice let us know if you have it sorted. We've done a few camera jumps as well, always looks cool, have a look here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8CwpfeF4ysM


* Viso2: Is a skydive data logger, which tracks exit altitude, max freefall speed, deployment altitude and max speed under canopy. You must be above a 1000 ft AGL to activate it and freefall for at least 5 seconds.

Will keep you posted as soon as we have tested it!![8D]
broodwa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 04:28 AM
  #5
edge_pilot
Thread Starter
 
edge_pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lagrange, OH
Posts: 734
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

That gives me something to shoot for. We have dropped higher than 2290 but we didn't have any real data at the time. Now we have this I plan to go see how high we can get. The long freefall would be cool.

I have ordered another camera to get a better inflight video.

That visio2 devise sounds really cool. I would love to see the specs of that.
edge_pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 06:28 AM
  #6
broodwa
 
broodwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: OudtshoornWestern Cape, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 74
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

Cool Dave,

Glad we can give you something to shoot for!!

Although we are on completely different continents, its great to see we all share the same passion and trying the same things with these divers!!

Here is a link to the VISO2, it is about the same size as the face of a sport watch, which makes it nice and small to place on a diver. Scroll down you'll find it: http://www.paragear.com/templates/pa...vel=2&parent=5

I have the Eagle Tree stand alone altimeter on my one diver which works well and is quite accurate, its nice and small as well, so can recommend it, but it only give maximum altitude no other telemetry.

Blue Skies!!

Will keep you updated as soon as we have done a jump with it, but these days I spend more time jumping out of real planes myself!!!
broodwa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 06:51 AM
  #7
edge_pilot
Thread Starter
 
edge_pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lagrange, OH
Posts: 734
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

That is a neat little gaget. Looks like we could have some fun with that, mite have to look into getting one.

Yep, R/C Skydivers all have the same passion for the sport, doesn't matter were you live.
edge_pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 04:13 AM
  #8
Banzai55
 
Banzai55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brookhaven, MS
Posts: 142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

Frank and I did a drop from 2400 feet above ground a couple of years ago. Could barely see the plane - could not see the man until after deployment. Excellent opportunity to have something go wrong - no plans for a repeat!!! too scary!!
Banzai55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:37 PM.