Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

  1. #1
    edge_pilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lagrange, OH
    Posts
    726
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

    Well we got in another drop today. My skydiver is now equipped with an altimeter. Drop altitude was 2290 feet [X(] , and no thats not from sea level. Very windy so we didn't try a second jump. The diver was also wearing an onboard camera, but something didn't go well there and it never recorded any video.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Stuarts Draft, VA
    Posts
    363
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

    Hi Dave,

    That sounds like a pretty high drop. I bought an Eagle Tree system for my drop plane over a year ago and still haven't got it installed.
    Maybe I will get it in before the upcoming Muncie rally.
    Just guessing I never thought any of my drops were over 1000 ft.

    Are you going to make the Muncie Rally in September?

    Gary V

  3. #3
    edge_pilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lagrange, OH
    Posts
    726
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

    Hey Gary,

    Yes the drop was definately not the normal. Usually we like to see when the diver leaves the plane.

    It looks good so far to be at the Muncie rally. I will know better after IRCHA if my son can get time off work. My brother is in Maryland now so I know he will not be attending.

    I had the Hitec telemetery in my jump plane, but the GPS unit is really crappy. The altimeter was not accurate at all with that unit so we scrapped that idea. Not sure about the Eagle tree, haven't read into it much.

  4. #4
    broodwa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    OudtshoornWestern Cape, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    74
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

    Hi Dave,

    That's cool, the highest we have gone was 817m (2680 ft) and did a freefall of 40.3 seconds!! We used the Eagle Tree altimeter attached to the diver for that jump. I still want to repeat this with my Visio* attached to skydiver and see what stats we can get.

    Camera footage would be nice let us know if you have it sorted. We've done a few camera jumps as well, always looks cool, have a look here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8CwpfeF4ysM


    * Viso2: Is a skydive data logger, which tracks exit altitude, max freefall speed, deployment altitude and max speed under canopy. You must be above a 1000 ft AGL to activate it and freefall for at least 5 seconds.

    Will keep you posted as soon as we have tested it!![8D]

  5. #5
    edge_pilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lagrange, OH
    Posts
    726
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

    That gives me something to shoot for. We have dropped higher than 2290 but we didn't have any real data at the time. Now we have this I plan to go see how high we can get. The long freefall would be cool.

    I have ordered another camera to get a better inflight video.

    That visio2 devise sounds really cool. I would love to see the specs of that.

  6. #6
    broodwa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    OudtshoornWestern Cape, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    74
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

    Cool Dave,

    Glad we can give you something to shoot for!!

    Although we are on completely different continents, its great to see we all share the same passion and trying the same things with these divers!!

    Here is a link to the VISO2, it is about the same size as the face of a sport watch, which makes it nice and small to place on a diver. Scroll down you'll find it: http://www.paragear.com/templates/pa...vel=2&parent=5

    I have the Eagle Tree stand alone altimeter on my one diver which works well and is quite accurate, its nice and small as well, so can recommend it, but it only give maximum altitude no other telemetry.

    Blue Skies!!

    Will keep you updated as soon as we have done a jump with it, but these days I spend more time jumping out of real planes myself!!!

  7. #7
    edge_pilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lagrange, OH
    Posts
    726
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

    That is a neat little gaget. Looks like we could have some fun with that, mite have to look into getting one.

    Yep, R/C Skydivers all have the same passion for the sport, doesn't matter were you live.

  8. #8
    Banzai55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Brookhaven, MS
    Posts
    132
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: skydiver equipped with an altimeter.

    Frank and I did a drop from 2400 feet above ground a couple of years ago. Could barely see the plane - could not see the man until after deployment. Excellent opportunity to have something go wrong - no plans for a repeat!!! too scary!!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:11 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.