R/C Sky Diving Discuss all aspects of r/c sky diving and divers here!

RC Base Jumpin'

Reply
Old 09-30-2008, 08:47 PM
  #1
Huntster
Thread Starter
 
Huntster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RC Base Jumpin'

Has anyone tried to BASE (Bridge Antenna Span Earth) jump their RC Skydiver? a tall tree maybe? apartment building? anything but a Heli or Plane.
Huntster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 03:34 AM
  #2
Paradrop
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rhuallt, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RC Base Jumpin'

Yeah it is my intention to start the fad in the UK but The big question is and I have put it to mr naylor at rcskydiving.com ¨What altitude should we alow for the chute to open????¨
Paradrop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 03:47 AM
  #3
broodwa
 
broodwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: OudtshoornWestern Cape, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 74
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RC Base Jumpin'

Hi, Yes I have with my old diver, you'll need at least a 10 floor building. The highest building in my home town is 5 floors and I broke the the legs on impact, the chute was not inflated completely[>:][&:]. On normal free fall when it has some velocity it opens quickly but with a BASE jump at low hight it doesn't pick up velocity that quickly and delays the deployment time. I'll see if can get the link on the net again of a guy in Switserland who has done some awsome BASE jumps with his diver but he has Radio towers and a high Dam Wall close to his home town so it helps.

Remenber altitude is your friend.
broodwa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 06:37 PM
  #4
Huntster
Thread Starter
 
Huntster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RC Base Jumpin'

Well I am a huge an of http://www.skydivingmovies.com/ I have watched many hours of video over the years and the base jumping section reflects a different technique to Base jumping.

If we use the same set up that we use for the plane, what will happen is similar to a bag lock where there isn't enough PULL on the drogue chute to pull the main chute out. What is happening to our RC jumpers would be that the body is blocking the flow of air on the back and not really allowing the jumpers chute to come out and inflate... that is if we are deploying the chute with the radio.....

What if we use a line attached to the closure pin which will allow the chute to open shortly after it leaves our hands....maybe 20 feet? What would allow more altitude maybe for it to open.

I have been on the look out for places to toss my guy and try this but there aren't many buildings here in may part of Florida that are tall enough to try this if it needs about 10 stories to open and deploy....

Maybe I could tie a string to his foot and fly him like a kite!!! ?
Huntster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 06:06 AM
  #5
airbusdrvr
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Port Richey, FL
Posts: 2,568
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: RC Base Jumpin'

Hunster, this should solve your launch problem. Who knows, one of those military bases up there might let you use some of their tower equipment.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HRaXwnnpX2s
airbusdrvr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:17 PM.