R/C Sky Diving Discuss all aspects of r/c sky diving and divers here!

What drop plane do you use?

Reply
Old 06-17-2009, 05:44 PM
  #1
Banzai55
Thread Starter
 
Banzai55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brookhaven, MS
Posts: 142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default What drop plane do you use?

What drop plane / engine combo do you use? Please post details and pix! What type of radio equipment and instrumentation do you use? Let's share! We use the 8 foot senior telemaster and a camera plane from Abellrc - both powered by 26cc engines.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki18602.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	152.1 KB
ID:	1220000   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bg92378.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	1220001  
Banzai55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 07:13 PM
  #2
R/C Skyjumper
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: andover, MN
Posts: 259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?

No photo yet as still working on this one a Sig Kadet Senior with a Magnum 70 on it and raise the gear a little higher and stronger , Currant plane is a Superstar 40 with a 51 Supre Tiger and raised gear and it takes one up the Kadet will be configerd for I, 2 or 3 at a time - will post photo when more along on it
Don
R/C Skyjumper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 07:50 PM
  #3
R/C Skydiver
 
R/C Skydiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Smiths, AL
Posts: 345
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?

Right now I am using a Giant Lanier Stinger (ARF). I started off using 2 SR Telemasters. One with a Sato 150 and the other with a Sato 180. They worked great for a long time but the number of flights took its toll on them. I had a second Stinger 'till a few weeks ago-lost it with low battery on a spectrum system. Down to the one Stinger now and will probably not get more except I am going to build another Mud Duck to use to drop an R/C Skydiving Duck!
The present stinger has a Bryson 4.2 and is rigged to take 3 Mike Skydivers. The deceased Stinger had an Area 51 (Chinese) engine that had as much power as the Bryson. It's being repaired for less than $100.
In my opinion, the best rig would be the Stinger if you plan to drop 3 or 4 jumpers, otherwise I would use Sr Telemasters for 1 or 2 Jumpers. There are many other great jumping planes. Hope others will add to this list.
Before and after photos of the second Stinger!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig12105.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	108.3 KB
ID:	1220114   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu59859.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	64.4 KB
ID:	1220115   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ch95650.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	96.5 KB
ID:	1220116  
R/C Skydiver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 05:15 AM
  #4
ennyka
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: La Place, LA
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?

I use the stick series and add taller landing gear and bigger wheels. For my ultimate 3lb diver I use the Hangar9 Ultra stick with a worn out well broken in O.S .91 two stroke, I have the exhaust piped to the back so the diver and the plane stay clean. For dropping two micro divers I use the E-flite Ultra Stick 25e with 4 inch tall wheels to get extra ground clearance. The 25e is powered with the Power 32 motor and a 4cell lipo. Ido pick up a free ride in the giant stinger sometimestoo ithas a G62 and doesn't feel the diver underneath.

For radio gear I am JR or Spektrum all the way. Each drop plane has two recievers ( one AR7000 and one AR6100), one to fly the plane and another that is binded to the divers radio so the diver can let himself out. The divers have each there own reciever an AR6100 (park fly range), I use a AR6100 in the plane for the drop that way if the plane flies out of the park fly reciever range then the drop box will not drop the diver that would also be out of range.

I don't have any pictures uploaded yet.
ennyka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 06:14 AM
  #5
edge_pilot
 
edge_pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lagrange, OH
Posts: 734
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?

We use a Sig Rascal 110 with a Saito 220 on board. Works very well and is extremely easy to fly if I need to find an airplane pilot to take me up. We have a 3 drop box setup on it, this makes it easy to carry 1,2 or 3 jumpers and keep the balance correct.
edge_pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 07:46 PM
  #6
R/C Skyjumper
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: andover, MN
Posts: 259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?

After 3 good Jumpe today we decided to "retire the Super Star" back to a trainer plane and at this moment we are sitting up the Kadet Sr for a drop plane with a Co Pilot receiver to have some fun with - gear is all installed ,Radio is on first setup done , bulkhead has been redone to make larger open bay for some fun things and O yes a removable drop box , not set up for multi divers yet as need to figer out how far out need the drop box to not bounce off the main gearwhen released. Any Ideas ? More later
Don
R/C Skyjumper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 08:20 AM
  #7
The_Wreck
 
The_Wreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mableton, GA
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?

I have used a tower hobbies 60 size trainer....Not very good.

Then rigged up my 37.5% Yak with a drop box mounted to the landing gear....Removable with Velcro. It works great and the Yak with a DA170 doesn't even know the jumper is there. Obviously you can't drop from this altitude.

And finally, I just got the Mac Daddy. Super Flying King rigged up for 3 jumpers using a DA100.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mj24490.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	63.9 KB
ID:	1231320   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gc91128.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	59.0 KB
ID:	1231321   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yd82145.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	1231322   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wq42695.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	58.5 KB
ID:	1231323  
The_Wreck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 05:00 PM
  #8
RiaanLR
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: WorcesterWestern Cape, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 40
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?



This is a Corex Ultra stick with a 50 cc gas. Takes two jumpers easely.

Riaan

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki19814.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	128.5 KB
ID:	1367379   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kw18263.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	127.8 KB
ID:	1367380   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rq15677.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	120.4 KB
ID:	1367381  
RiaanLR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 05:16 PM
  #9
skydive4ever
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: St-Isidore, NB, CANADA
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?

I use a Multiplex Magister upgraded to brushless, Spektrum 6Ch full range with DX6i radio for the plane and Spektrum 6 Ch micro receiver and DX6i for the Micro Diver Generation 2 from rcskydiving.com and their drop box, I don't have any pics but I do have a couple of videos, more to come :-)
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cl_o-J0s3sM[/youtube]
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z4PR8DNckmw[/youtube]

PS I just bought a matching paramotor, gotta try to figure out a where to put the drop mechanism ;-)

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq47909.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	107.5 KB
ID:	1367389  
skydive4ever is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 03:45 PM
  #10
Tee Bee
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Angleton, TX
Posts: 1,898
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?

I use a Sig Kadet Sr taildragger. It was my first rc plane to build and fly. Now it lives on as a drop plane. 3-channel, no ailerons. Powered by an OS 40LA. A bit underpowered for larger divers but manages to carry my Micro Diver to altitude alright.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40654.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	111.5 KB
ID:	1373916   Click image for larger version

Name:	Db86132.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	88.9 KB
ID:	1373917   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11596.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	208.9 KB
ID:	1373918  
Tee Bee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 05:07 PM
  #11
Cpig
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?

Air Force Academy's Twin Otter skydiving plane 82" wingspan, twin engine. Went with electric setup (Eflite power 32 x 2) so no fuel mess all over my skydiver. I think it's the perfect drop plane - same one used in real life.



Cpig is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 05:30 AM
  #12
edge_pilot
 
edge_pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lagrange, OH
Posts: 734
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?

I knew someone would do this! Very cool jump plane. A friend of mine , Mike, found where the Golden Knight team actually used one of these years ago, he also found pictures of the actual plane with the Golden Knight color scheme on it.
edge_pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 07:38 AM
  #13
Cpig
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: edge_pilot

I knew someone would do this! Very cool jump plane. A friend of mine , Mike, found where the Golden Knight team actually used one of these years ago, he also found pictures of the actual plane with the Golden Knight color scheme on it.
I learned to skydive at the Golden Knights' home drop zone - Raeford DZ in N. Carolina. It was always incredible to watch them, even had them give me tips on packing chutes and jumping - definitely a great place to learn (except for the crazy winds). Now I live in Colorado by the Air Force Academy so this plane (actual) flies over my house all the time. I live between the Academy and the airfield where it refuels. When H9 released it, I knew I had to get one as it is the perfect jump plane for my micro-diver.
Dave,
Maybe an Ultimate diver in Air Force Academy blue and white pattern - what do you think? I think they would love it up there at the Academy.
Cpig is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 10:16 AM
  #14
edge_pilot
 
edge_pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lagrange, OH
Posts: 734
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?

We could do that. I have seen pictures of the Airforce chute, if I recall it would be no problem to duplicate.
edge_pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 10:23 PM
  #15
GaryV
 
GaryV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stuarts Draft, VA
Posts: 423
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What drop plane do you use?

Great Planes "Giant Stik"
Evolution 35cc gasser W/pipe 19x8 carbon prop
Smart Fly system "Power Expander Sport Plus" fiber optic kill switch
Futaba 10C 2.4 6014FS receiver
set up for single drop.


Giant Telemaster
DLE 111 27x10 XOAR prop
Smart Fly system "Power Expander Sport Plus" fiber optic kill switch
Futaba 10C 2.4 6014HS receiver
currently set to drop 3 skydivers
have Eagle Tree telemetry to install
currently at 31lbs., still have a little more work to do.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rp44635.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	2.55 MB
ID:	1476773   Click image for larger version

Name:	hf99583.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	200.9 KB
ID:	1476774   Click image for larger version

Name:	ay75051.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	133.8 KB
ID:	1476775  
GaryV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:24 AM.