Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Thoughts on Competition...

I am extremely new to all this but thought we could get an interesting discussion going regarding the future of RC Sky Diving Competition in the US and Worldwide.

My only experience has been the Corks Rally this past weekend, and the competition and enjoyment level was spectacular. We were allowed unlimited jumps and the top 5 scores for each jumper counted. I don't think the competition could have been any better, especially with the winds on Saturday!

As this hobby continues to grow - what ideas do you have for future competitions?

One thought that crossed my mind was to have each jumper be limited to a set number of jumps - say 10 jumps - with his top 5 counting. He can have as many practice jumps as he wants, but he must state, before the jumper leaves the ground in a plane, that this is one of his 10 jumps that count... 10 total jumps with the top 5 counting.

There was also talk of other "competitions", such as time aloft. This creates challenges due to it being impossible to know if each jumper is leaving the plane at the same altitude, but I like the idea.

How have competitions been structured in the past?

How are competitions done in other countries?

What other ideas do you have?

Right now for me, I could jump for 5 straight days and likely not hit the bullseye 5 times!

Both optimists and pessimists contribute to our society. The optimist invents the airplane and the pessimist the parachute.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Thoughts on Competition...

I like the idea of having a maxium number of jumps that count. That it makes it more challenging.

Scott