Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

What size is a #2 Jumper?

Hello guys, I’m brand new to R/C Skydiving and I have a few questions. But first I have to tell you, I’m designing my own skydiver from scratch. It’s not going to be one of these little guys that’ll fit in your pocket. I want it big enough to see pretty well in the sky.
    My jumper is modeled up with 3D software so I can assign weights to materials and get everything worked out before I start making parts. So far he’s 13.2” tall and weighs just over 1.5 lbs.
    I’ve downloaded the gitchelchute.doc from the “Let’s Jump” web site and constricted a 3D model of the canopy. Just for clarity it’s the RAM AIR PARAFOIL CHUTE FOR R/C by Wally Gitchel 7 cells, 24”, chord, 49” span, 8 sq. ft. area, for a #2 R/C Jumper.
    When I place the canopy with my jumper he seams a little small. Now to my question; what size (and weight) is a #2 Jumper that Walter Gitchelreferringto?
    Thanks for your help.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: What size is a #2 Jumper?

Thats a 2 pound jumper and about right for that chute
    Welcome to our little world and a bunch of swell guys and gals

Any help we can be we will try and there is a wealth of info on this site in the older post and a lot of great reading and ideas
    Good Luck with your diver and keep us posted on progress
    Don
    Don Mowery rcskyjumper.com

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback