R/C Sky Diving Discuss all aspects of r/c sky diving and divers here!

4.8v or 6V

Reply
Old 11-27-2009, 03:06 PM
  #1
rcdirigibles
Thread Starter
 
rcdirigibles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MexicoDF, MEXICO
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 4.8v or 6V

Hello,
Can somebody recomend me if I use 4.8v or 6v on my Andy Skydiver ?
I will use Hitec Servos: 2 HS-645MG and 1 HS-225M
And, How many mAh recomend me ?
Lipo or Nimh ?
Thank you for your help.
Regards,
Alex
rcdirigibles is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 03:23 PM
  #2
R/C Skyjumper
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: andover, MN
Posts: 259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4.8v or 6V

I use 6 vt nimh in all of mine as I have a few batts and chargers for them eather one is good , 6 vt give more kick to the servos
Don
R/C Skyjumper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 04:16 PM
  #3
lundy
 
lundy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lommel, BELGIUM
Posts: 197
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4.8v or 6V

Hi Alex

6 volt is giving 25% more power to the servo, and you have the +of the weight .
Its better to take power up then dead weight ,an you need the weight anyway !
The folding arms of your Andy can use that extra bit of power , and you need a bigger chute for the high altitude you are living in .
Bigger chute needs more power to puldown the arm .
When is your Andy arriving ?


,jules
lundy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 05:59 PM
  #4
Banzai55
 
Banzai55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brookhaven, MS
Posts: 142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4.8v or 6V

6V is way better because it gives more power to the servos and the rx only needs 4.8 so you have a buffer before loss of signal (i think!) Anyway we have to add lead to get a good sink rate and useful weight is way better
Banzai55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 07:27 PM
  #5
rcdirigibles
Thread Starter
 
rcdirigibles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MexicoDF, MEXICO
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4.8v or 6V


Quote:
ORIGINAL: lundy

Hi Alex

6 volt is giving 25% more power to the servo, and you have the +of the weight .
Its better to take power up then dead weight ,an you need the weight anyway !
The folding arms of your Andy can use that extra bit of power , and you need a bigger chute for the high altitude you are living in .
Bigger chute needs more power to puldown the arm .
When is your Andy arriving ?


,jules

Hi Jules,
This week I had some problems with Office Outlook and I think I losse some incoming emails.
Right now I am sending an email to Andreas Pasch for ask.
Best Regards,
Alex
rcdirigibles is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 07:31 PM
  #6
rcdirigibles
Thread Starter
 
rcdirigibles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MexicoDF, MEXICO
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4.8v or 6V

Hello,
Thank you all for your help.
I will use 6v.
I want to ask:
Everybody use a lost model locator ? or Locator Bepper finder ?
And use, the on/off switch or something more secure like the paramax module ?
Thank you in advacne,
Best Regards,
Alex
rcdirigibles is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 09:23 PM
  #7
Banzai55
 
Banzai55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brookhaven, MS
Posts: 142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4.8v or 6V

frank has a gizmo and you need one!! it is amzing how hard it is to find a guy in the woods!
Banzai55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 11:31 PM
  #8
Ucak
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bolu, TURKEY
Posts: 52
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4.8v or 6V

[:-] Lost guy in the woods... I've never... well I guess he has lost his bread crumbs once in awhile finding his way home... stay with the 6V you will need it to hear the arms moving while you are looking for him in the woods if you don't have a locator..
Ucak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:37 AM.