RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   R/C Sky Diving (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/r-c-sky-diving-474/)
-   -   Novice Jumper with a Couple Questions (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/r-c-sky-diving-474/7818309-novice-jumper-couple-questions.html)

robert92679 08-06-2008 11:33 PM

Novice Jumper with a Couple Questions

1 Attachment(s)
Hello Fellow Skydivers,

I am relatively new to this facet of our hobby, but have made about 10 jumps with a jumper I picked up from goldenknight1. Thank you Bob, for all the help and answers to my questions. I've been having a blast.

I now have my lift plane figured out. I am flying a Kadet LT-40 with a Saito 72. On my first couple jumps I had the release box on top of the wing, which is definitely NOT the way to do it. The plane was almost unflyable due to the high CG and drag. We were barely able to gain enough altitude for a jump. I since moved the release under the fuselage, and it works extremely well. This plane and engine combination has plenty of power for the 2.5 lb. jumper.

I had one jump early on where the chute didn't fully open. The jumper spiraled down, but was undamaged. My folding technique has improved with practice, and now my openings are reliable and fast. So here are my questions... Do you recommend any kind of baby powder for your hands or the chute while folding? I found a little bit prevents the chute material from sticking to my hands when they're a bit sweaty. Do you use anything to clean the chute after it landed in the dirt a few times? Another words, what kind of maintenance should I be doing to keep the chute in ideal working condition?

Here are a couple pictures of my setup: Jumper on Top (wrong!), Jumper below (right!), and Jumper in Flight.

I welcome any suggestions about the baby powder, or any other lessons you have learned along the way.

Regards,

Robert

ennyka 08-06-2008 11:53 PM

RE: Novice Jumper with a Couple Questions