Radio Equipment Classifieds & Auctions Click here to view transmitters, receivers, servos and all other rc radio related equipment in the RCU Marketplace.

Transfering model memory to new Tx

Reply
Old 10-15-2013, 08:06 AM
  #1
pilotdb09
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville, NC, NC
Posts: 48
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Transfering model memory to new Tx

Does anyone have a suggestion for transferring 7 model memories FROM a Spektrum DX 7 - TO a Spektrum DX 9?

I guess I can manually read each models settings, write them down and manually install each in the DX 9, OR would it be possible to enter them into a computer first, then download them into the DX 9's SD card?

Any ideas?
pilotdb09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 08:51 AM
  #2
grosbeak
 
grosbeak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ottawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,321
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

When I went from a Futaba T7C to a Futabe T8FGS I copied them down and reentered them - it didn't occur to me to try and use the SD card. You would have to know what format the radio uses before you try to create a file on the card.
grosbeak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 09:07 AM
  #3
AMA 74894
Moderator
 
AMA 74894's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Spicer, MN
Posts: 1,212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

you MAY be able to figure it out with a computer:
1) create a simple / default model on the DX9 and save it to the SD card.
2) put the SD card into your computer and examine the file with a text editor. (things like model name, channel assignments etc)
3) with the card still in the computer, make 7 copies of the file created in step 1
4) modify those 7 copies as appropriate (model names, channel directions, mixes etc)
5) put the card back into the DX9 and import the new profiles

I'm NOT positive the above will work... frankly it would likely be just as easy to write the DX7 info down on paper and manually enter them.
AMA 74894 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 05:24 AM
  #4
rmh
 
rmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: , UT
Posts: 12,630
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Easiest- most reliable-safeftway.
load each model separately from watching both tx or from writing down all info and then transferring it
it is just too easy to miss a reversal or find a mix which is not workable -for whatever reason.
The new tx from Spektrum, the 6-9 18-10t- use same building blocks in each - these allow shifting the models round -intact.
The 7- 8 used an earlier set of building blocks and will not share info.
rmh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 07:36 PM
  #5
coriolan
 
coriolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You may want to edit "Libby is still watching you", its actually Liddy which was doing the watching way back then:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G._Gordon_Liddy
coriolan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:35 AM.