Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC 1/8th Scale Buggies
Reload this Page >

What KV motor for 1/8 buggy??? (newb question)

Community
Search
Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

What KV motor for 1/8 buggy??? (newb question)

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2010, 12:14 PM
HighClassBasher

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What KV motor for 1/8 buggy??? (newb question)

First of all.... i am very sorry for the newb question.... But I have always been a strictly NITRO guy, and now i am getting into electric.
I am building a couple of 1/8 scale buggies (Xray XB808E and Hyper9E).
Im not a professional racer, just a club racer so i need a good all-round motor setup.
I also dont know what size lipo to run, i was planning on a big 4S Lipo... unless someone suggest something better (is 4S enough??)
Could someone please help me out with what motor/lipo setup to run.
I would like to use a TEKIN motor/ESC.
Also if anyone knows a good site, page, of forum to learn more about electric rc (example what are the differences between KV motors??
You dont know how much i appreciate the help.... I feel like an idiot asking questions like this, i could tell you anything you could want to know about NITRO but this electric stuff is really new to me.
Thank you so much.
Steve
Old 10-24-2010, 02:57 PM
Shop_monkey

Default RE: What KV motor for 1/8 buggy??? (newb question)

somewhere around 2000kv should do just fine, and yes 4s is perfect for a buggy
Old 10-24-2010, 05:43 PM
HighClassBasher

Cool, i was planning on running a 2050KV on 4S.
So what effect does different kV motors have? How are they different?
Again sorry for the newb questions but i have to learn this electric stuff somehow.
Thanks.
Steve
Old 10-24-2010, 06:46 PM
bloodpuppy

4S flys actually
I run 2 2s 5200 batterys and itsalmost to much
Old 10-26-2010, 07:05 AM
DirtyChevyRC