Community
Search
Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

Which RC buggy to get

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2012, 09:27 AM
chillan757

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which RC buggy to get

I'm new to RCU, but basically I'm getting out of my old hobby (Professional Gaming) and I want to get into Nitro RC Racing. I have a HPI Firestorm 10T but it's not really setup for racing. I was going to get into truggy racing but I think buggy racing is more popular. So I've been shopping around and two buggies have caught my eye, the HPI trophy buggy and the Losi 8ight buggy. Which would you guys recommend? Please keep in mind I'm going to be new to racing and I don't know much about the 4WD RC Cars. Also, I am open minded to other buggies if you guys have another recommendation.
Old 04-05-2012, 09:53 AM
FahrtAutoRC

Default RE: Which RC buggy to get

I would drop the HPI from the list and start a top three run: Losi, Team Associated and OFNA, this was what my possibilities list looked like before I got my Losi 8ight!
Old 04-05-2012, 10:07 AM
chillan757

Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't the regulation motor size for racing .21? Or does is go by the race? I'm just curious because most of the motors in those buggies are .28 and I thought they were it was supposed to be .21.
Old 04-05-2012, 11:45 AM
FahrtAutoRC

Check with your local track, as every track follows their own rules. Here, they don't really care, especially if it is an RTR motor.
Old 04-05-2012, 01:05 PM
chillan757

Thanks for the info FahrtAutoRC. Now, from what I've seen, I'm thinking about the OFNA Ultra lx2. Any objections? Decently priced, not to old, IMO seems decent. But you guys probably know more than I do. Please be critical I don't want to get something that is crap
Old 04-05-2012, 02:50 PM
nitroexpress

ORIGINAL: chillan757