Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC 1/8th Scale Buggies
Reload this Page >

Need some help troubleshooting first Nitro

Community
Search
Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

Need some help troubleshooting first Nitro

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2013, 07:53 PM
tenzero1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some help troubleshooting first Nitro

First off I am new to owning a true (non-toy) RC vehicle, however I have spent a lot of time researching and getting help from a friend who has many RC's. About a month ago I decided to trade somethings of mine for an OFNA Jammin X1 CR with a ton of extras on craigslist. I figured this would be a decent starting point. I spent a good amount of time looking at manuals and doing my homework yet I think I may have one issue that plaguing me.

I can get the motor running semi decently, however when I give it gas it does not move. After trying several times and spending more time researching I tried a few things. I have rotated the tires and made sure they spin the drive shaft and all gears properly. I have also taken out the engine and inspected the clutch assembly and it looked fine. No broken springs shoes dont look too worn. If i spin the clutch bell with my fingers it moves the tires. The car also moves freely when its pushed.

So my question....Does my engine need to hit a higher rpm in order for the clutch to engage or is there another issue im missing? From what I have read its usually a clutch issue or a problem with the drive/differentials,

I appreciate all help.

-Thor
Old 01-06-2013, 09:00 PM
Ybenjulkay2x

Default RE: Need some help troubleshooting first Nitro

First do this while engine is off, turned on transmitter and receiver then apply gas on your remote then try to push the car to see if it move freely or not, if car doesn't roll freely then there's binding on your brake.
Old 01-06-2013, 10:11 PM
tenzero1