Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

Kyosho conversion

Old 02-15-2013, 03:52 AM
ace184

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kyosho conversion

I have a nitro kyosho inferno neo r/s and just recently bought the brushless conversion for it. I was wondering what would be a good motor/esc combo for it? I know the ins and outs of the mechanical side of all my rc's, but I am still new to all the different motor setups. My 2 traxxas bashers still have the stock velineon system in them. I know tekin makes a good 1/8th setup, but I am not sure how the kv stuff works, is the higher the better or what? Thanks.
Old 02-15-2013, 04:04 AM
Foxy

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Kyosho conversion

Hi there,

For a 1/8th buggy you should be looking at around 2000 to 2350 kv (higher is faster per volt; kv=rpm per volt supplied). Higher than 2350 unless geared very conservatively will get very warm especially off road, I personally feel that 2200kv is the sweet spot for a buggy, good speed and not too much heat.

Also, bear in mind that the Tekin system you mentioned is expensive and advanced, imed at dedicated racers. It will be fine for bashing around as well, but somewhat overkill. Expect to pay $300 or thereabouts for a the Tekin 2000kv truggy combo from official sources, perhaps cheaper on ebay (if you do go the Tekin route, get the truggy motors, not the buggy motors, more torque). There is also the famous Castle combo, with the 2200kv motor which is outstanding (and un-sensored, unlike the Tekin system which is sensored. If you're wondering what htis means, it means that the motor requires an additonal sensor cable, and starts up more smoothly). Personally, I do not value smooth startup enough to have the additional point of failure of the sensor and cable, for 1/8th stuff, I prefer simple non-sensored (like the Castle). The Castle is also nearly $300 over the counter, so is not cheap either.