Community
Search
Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

New Hyper 7.5 Woes :(

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2013, 02:29 PM
chefclancy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Hyper 7.5 Woes :(

So I am just getting into racing (2wd SCT) and had a sc10 got a really good deal on for 190 dollars and didn't plan on doing anything with it so I traded it for a brand new Hyper 7.5. The things is brand new, the only thing the previous owner done was put a roto start on the engine. Well I am an electric guy and have been trying to get it tuned for a week, its only had 1 idle tank ran through it. Today I went out to work on it and hooked the roto up and the motor started spinning then a few seconds later NOTHING! something went wrong in the bottom of the motor as the pinion gear wont spin when I hook the rotor up. The motor no longer turns over but spins freely now. Any ideas guys on what this could be? I am a complete nitro noob, I should have kept my sc10!
Old 03-20-2013, 08:10 PM
JoeMaxx

Default RE: New Hyper 7.5 Woes :(

Ok you have lost me a little because the HoBao Hyper 7 is kinda brand new and only been offered by HPI since December of last year.

Since this is your first post we will need a little more information.

The Roto Start systems use a battery pack and if it is not fully charged it will not turn the motor over that turns the engine over.

The Nitro engine could have become flooded with fuel since you are new to nitro engines this is not uncommon for you to flood the engine when attempting to start it.Clean aroundthe plug with a blast of nitro cleaner then pull the glow plugthen stuff a piece of paper towel down into the head. Turn the engine over until it is clear of fuel.

Did you charge the Roto Starter Battery pack up? If not it will need charging.

If you charged your battery pack then it is something else like the roto start system installed on to your nitro engine.