Community
Search
Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

New to RC, few questions.

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2017, 03:16 PM
TomTheBeast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question New to RC, few questions.

Background information

Hello, I'm new to RC in general, and I'm looking to get into it. I will be updating this post occasionally based on the information I receive and what I am able to figure out.
Thanks for taking your time to read my post, my questions and information will be below.

Keep in mind, I'm generally new to all of this, so I would like an explanation on what things are used for, how they work in basic terms, and correct jargon/vocabulary on what things are called.

I plan to go with a Nitro 1/8th scale buggy, I'm pretty much set on it. I plan to use it on my street, in parking lots, maybe a dirt path/trail/field.

Brands/Manufacturer
I'm completely brand new to Nitro, and have very little experience of the brands, pieces, what is what. What are the brands to look for in certain pieces, and what are some brands to stay away from? I'll most likely be using a website like AMain hobbies, if that helps at all.

Kits
My goal is to use Team Associated's RC8 B3 Buggy(ASC80914). Would this be a good kit to start out with? What are the known pro's and con's of this kit?

Pieces
Alright, as I stated, I'm almost brand new to Nitro RC, so I have very little experience with the pieces, and what is what.
I'm going to list the main pieces I see that I need below, and have a question about them.

Questions/Recommendations

Engine: Werks Racing Team Line B6 .21 (WRXTL21B6) - Is this a good engine for what I plan to do? What would you personally recommend for durability, and a long lifespan, with performance. I'd rather have quality, not a cheap price tag.

Glow Starter: There is a Glow Starter that comes with the engine, if I replace the engine, what is a good Glow Starter to use?