Community
Search
Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

After-Run Oil??

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2005, 02:51 PM
Savage Unlimited

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default After-Run Oil??

I am a total newb to Nitro RC so I have no idea about maintenance is it ok if I put in after-run oil, after every session or does it only have to be every now and then(please forgive if this is a stupid qeustion) also how do I maintain this thing, like what do I have too look out for??[sm=confused.gif]

---------------------------------------------
Drive it like you stole it!!!
Old 08-10-2005, 02:59 PM
PATchy

Default RE: After-Run Oil??

whats up,

yeah you should use after run oil after every session and nooo it isn't a stupid question[8D]. put some it the carb and take the glow plug off and put some in the crank case too.. make sure your piston is at the bottom though..turn the flywheel over a few times to make sure that the oil evenly spread throughout the inside of the motor and everything is lubricated.

other than the motor, just look out for loose screws and stuff, make sure every screw that threads into metal has thread lock
check for broken parts, take any fuel remaining in the tank out, and just have fun with your car!

patchy
Old 08-10-2005, 03:55 PM
EB4man

DON'T start the engine after you put the oil in! That defeats the purpose of the oil. Put the oil in Like Patchy said, put the plug back in and just crank it over a few times without the ingnitor attached to distrubute the oil.
Old 08-10-2005, 04:03 PM
EB4man

and always try to run your tank out of gas at the end of the day...when your done for the day, you want to burn any nitro that is left in the engine. The alchohol content in the nitro is what causes the corrosion, if its burned out..it prevents corrosion problems. I don't use oil in my engines..they sit for a while at times and I never have a problem.
Old 08-10-2005, 04:07 PM
ruffian