Community
Search
Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

Engine idle problem

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2008, 08:43 PM
tcblr
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine idle problem

Ok I have the sportwerks .26 engine that is broken in properly and running good now for the most part. I took my car to a track today and I noticed that after running full wide open throttle and then letting off the triger to hit a jump the engine doesn't go back to idle imediately causing the wheels to continue spinning and causing my car to jump nose high or backflip. I have checked throttle linkages and idle screw settings. It Idles just fine and doesn't have a tedancy to spin the wheels unless I have made a highspeed full throttle run. after 15 to 20 sec. it goes back to normal idle "no wheel spin". I backed the idle screw out a bit but I cant keep the engine running with such a low idle setting. I'm new at this so Im sure I'm missing something. Anyone have any ideas?
Old 04-19-2008, 08:52 PM
rccheech

Default RE: Engine idle problem

May be an air leak??? possibyl???
Old 04-19-2008, 09:20 PM
My Name Is Brad

try to to richen the HSN up an 1/8 turn.
Old 04-19-2008, 09:27 PM
martrix

air leak.
Old 04-20-2008, 05:20 AM
pete8541

Your low end is too lean.

and that's the truth!
Old 04-20-2008, 05:55 AM
adam-69

richen your low end, its too lean causing the engine to race when its let down onto the low end settings.
Old 04-20-2008, 12:10 PM
dar123

it could be that your flywheel is heavy thus making it slower to return to idle!
Old 04-20-2008, 04:16 PM
Rockman

It also could be the angle of your carb in relation to the linkage. Maybe it moved a little and now it is causing the carb to stick. Also are you running a spring or rubber bands to close the throttle. This is good to help stop a runaway vehicle and helps close the carb.
Old 04-20-2008, 10:53 PM
tcblr
My Feedback: (3)