Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC 1/8th Scale Buggies
Reload this Page >

Nitro buggy + Snow = Good or Bad idea??

Community
Search
Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

Nitro buggy + Snow = Good or Bad idea??

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2009, 02:03 AM
big_poppa49

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nitro buggy + Snow = Good or Bad idea??

Ok. Im still new to nitro but I am curious. I think we will have a pretty bad winter around here, which means maybe some snow. Is it ok to run my Losi 8ight buggy in the snow?? If it is ok, any certain precautions to take when doing so? What about the air filter??

Oh and my electronics are JR servo for steering, HiTec 7995TG servo for throttle, and Spektrum Rx.

Not sure about the rest, but my HiTec servo on the instructions said it was "water resistant"
Old 12-21-2009, 05:38 AM
K_B

Default RE: Nitro buggy + Snow = Good or Bad idea??

You can run it in the snow, but if you don't tear it down and dry everything out and lube everything, it'll rust and bearings will seize up. Running in snow and making sure everything stays rust-free is a huge pain in the butt. I don't suggest it.
Old 12-21-2009, 06:22 AM
lez1troubles

hey Dude, over here in Belgium it's been snowing for almost a week non stop, it also dont stop us from driving our buggies around in the snow of on the lakes. You will however need some serius driving skills to stay under control.
You could use a finger full of thick grease around the top of your servos and a little bit of silicon to fill any holes in the radio tray(box).
Make spike tyres from an old set of tyres by screwing some wood screws through the inside to the out side and gluing them.
Use duck tape to close the body around the chassis, and dont forget to close the holes under the chassis.
Wear lots of clothing and go have fun in the snow.
P.S