Am I screwed??

Notices
RC Airboats Discuss R/C Airboats here!

Am I screwed??

Old 05-31-2011, 07:12 PM
szusa071

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Am I screwed??

This is my first time ever trying to start any type of nitro engine. Ive been having some trouble hand cranking it so today I picked up a electric starter and a aluminum spinner.

Somewhere in there I crossthreaded thespinner and whal laaa.....

Is there any fix? Can i get away with it like this or do I need to buy another crankshaft??

Also am I tightening thespinner enough cause when I use the electric starter it basically loosens the spinner, I think the inside of thespinner is stripped as well. Not sure though

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	tr49172.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	2.22 MB
ID:	1617664   Click image for larger version

Name:	yw68776.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	1.99 MB
ID:	1617665  
Old 05-31-2011, 08:06 PM
Mr Cajun Gator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Am I screwed??

The crank is fine, that is only aluminum from the spinner, which can be removed. Best bet would be get a new spinner nut, clean the threads on the crank, some times the point of a pick or knife can free the aluminum. Be careful it may take some force. Best to use a die/tap. Are you useing the prop washer that came with the engine? if so you may still be in really good shape, its not looking like the threads are bad very deep. Use lock tight. Do not use the washer that came with the engine, the spinner nut is made to apply force on the prop where it is needed.
Old 05-31-2011, 11:06 PM
Hesco Racing

This is another question. Looking at the prop spinner it looks from the pic that the thread is very course. You sure it is the right thread?