Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Solar Airboatee needs help!

Ahoy maties!

This is my first time building an airboat and Im trying to make it using Solar Power panels. I know it wont be as powerful as the ones that you guys can design, but I am entering a competition for Solar Powered Boats and I thought an airboat would be a really radical idea!! Every year that I enter, everyone uses underwater propellors, so I want to do something totally out there!!

Being the only girl in the comp, noone ever wants to help me out much so I thought maybe you fellow Airboatees may be able to help me out a bit!!

I have seven solar panels to place on the top, which will be connected to my motor. I have seen some people use CD covers as their fan. Any other suggestions??

The hull will be made from a surfboard blank (the foam is nice and light).

It will also need a steering system... Ive got the remote control but not sure of the best way to rig up air steering.

Anyways, if anyone can help me out with some suggestions, particular;ly on the most efficient way to wire the motor to the prop and steering would be greatly appreciated!

Happy hovering!!

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Solar Airboatee needs help!

Cool idea for using solar power!  Is this a speed race?  Airboats aren't the fastest craft on the water to begin with!
    1987 Steve Muck Spartan Streaker - Built in 2012!
    K&B 7.5 motor, Futaba radio and controls.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

I like it - I think with the low power output You will have lesss drag than a boat with a underwater prop and without a water rudder - even less drag.