RC Airboats Discuss R/C Airboats here!

Saying hello

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2013, 03:39 PM
Jeremy_H

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Saying hello

Hi all!

Searching around the net for some info on airboats I came across you guys, seems there's a good mix here so thought I'd join up. I'm from the UK, live in the South West near Plymouth, I'm 53 going on 12 .

I've been modelling for about 45 years off and on, always had one model or another. Ones which I would count as the most fulfilling though would be airboats, from diesel engined free runners to RC Glow a few have come and gone. Some time ago I made one with my eldest son, he was around eleven when this ocurred, maybe 16 years ago, with another youngling at the same age now it's time for another joint project. The first is in this terrible image (all I can find I'm afraid):

The plan for the new one is to go for a twin engine, centreline thrust so one tractor one pusher (just for the hell of it). Still on the drawing board whilst I get my head around fuel issues, but once the groundwork is done it will come together reasonably quickly along with a duplicate using brushless motors, something new to me, I'll keep you posted, and hope to pick your brains if I may be so bold .

Early line drawing of the new boat profile:
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	AIRBOAT UNDER WAY.jpg
Views:	217
Size:	45.9 KB
ID:	1913966   Click image for larger version

Name:	AIRBOAT V2_IC.jpg
Views:	314
Size:	43.1 KB
ID:	1913986  

Last edited by Jeremy_H; 08-27-2013 at 04:05 PM. Reason: Update
Old 08-28-2013, 01:08 AM
Altered1

G'day from Australia Jeremy!

Plan looks very cool.

Let us know how you go with the pull/push configuration.... why not !!?

You can also check out RC airboat world
Old 08-28-2013, 02:45 AM
Jeremy_H

Thanks, I'll check out the other forum.