RC Airboats Discuss R/C Airboats here!

Newbie: Looking for electric advice on Dumas Li'l Swamp Buggy

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2020, 04:05 PM
georgec02

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie: Looking for electric advice on Dumas Li'l Swamp Buggy

Hi all,

Complete Newbie here who's sheltering in place in CA. I've been working on some plastic model kits with my middle schoolers, but just ordered the Dumas Li'l Swamp Buggy. I thought it might be a good project as we're pretty home-bound right now. Apparently I can't post links as a new user. So, here's a description of what I've researched:

I'm reaching out for some advice as I try to understand
  • What motor and associated electronics I might need
  • What other accessories I'll need to complete (e.g. linkages, propeller, etc...)
Here's the description from the manufacture:
This smaller version of the Swamp Buggy can be set up for 2 channel radio control or free running. Either way the Little Swamp Buggy is a good beginners kit for both building and running. The kit is made up of birch and mahogany plywood and will require a .049 size gas engine for power.
Length 18 inches
Beam 7-3/4 inches
Power .049 size gas engine
I know the Cox .049 engines aren't made anymore, and also thought it might be easier to do an electric conversion on this one.

Question regarding the engine:
I've been reading up on gas to electric conversion, as well as looking up other conversions on the same model. Having a hard time understanding what I should be using.
  • I found a youtube video hereof a person that used a Park E-Flite 370 Outrunner which looks like it's 125W and is ~$40
  • I also found another post here in these forums that used an Integy 300W Outrunner (which shows 30A 1000kv?) which looks like it also includes the ESC for ~$40
  • Finally, there was a post that looked like the person used a Turnigy D2826-6 2200kv which looks like it's over 300W