Notices
RC Airboats Discuss R/C Airboats here!

Unique Airboat Design Advice Needed

Old 03-01-2016, 06:18 AM
Aeronautic13

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Unique Airboat Design Advice Needed

Hello RC Universe community,

I apologize in advance for this long post, but I have a unique design project that I need help solving, and I was considering using an airboat to do so. But, seeing as how I have no experience with airboats, or even boats in general, I figured I would ask around on the forums.

I need to transport one half of a pound of cargo around a semicircular pond in as little time as possible. I've estimated that the radius of the path that needs to be taken around the pond to be in the neighborhood of 60 to 75 feet. I figured an airboat would be an easier solution than a normal boat for this task. However, there is a fountain in the middle of the pond that may or may not be on, so the water may not be completely flat. I'm not sure how this would affect the performance of the airboat. These are the basic constraints of the task, but there are three catches. First, I can't actually use RC, so the rudder would have to be positioned at a fixed angle to turn in the circular path. Second, everything needs to be built for $80 or less, so I can't afford a top of the line motor or hull. Third, the only things I am allowed to purchase are the electronics (battery, motor) and the prop, so the hull, rudder, and any other framing must be built from scratch.