Search
Notices
RC Airboats Discuss R/C Airboats here!

how to build air boat!! which one?

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2005, 06:49 AM
martno1fan

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default how to build air boat!! which one?

hi im new to air boats i currently have an os 46la engine that i had in a plane id like to build an airboat for this engine.there are so many to choose from and id like help in choosing.i think id like to try using foam ,has anyone got any advice on building one or any plans i can have?.also do i need to glass the foam or not i know glassing it will make it stronger but is it needed?.
i also have loads of coro from a spad project left over does anyone have any good plans for one built using coro!!.ive seen threads on builds and such but nothing really detailed for a beginer like myself.i have experience of building planes but not boats help!!
Old 12-03-2005, 07:58 AM
Selph-Inflicted

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: how to build air boat!! which one?

[link=http://rcairboats.net/v-web/bulletin/bb/viewforum.php?f=6]Simple Foam Plans[/link]

If your gonna be running on water only...you could get away from glassing it, but you still want to seal the foam with some epoxy.
If your planning on running on ground any, you better glass it in.

Here is a boat built from coroplast, its built by Jasper. He can help you with the coroplast build....he has done quit a few.
[link=http://rcairboats.net/v-web/bulletin/bb/viewtopic.php?t=930]Coroplast boat built by Jasper[/link]
Old 12-03-2005, 08:15 AM
martno1fan

hi i was planning on using it on water mainly but also on grass and maybe sand at the beach so maybe id better glass it !!.i was thinking maybe putting some skids inlayed into the foam on it too ,good idea?.thanks for the link cant wait to get it started !!
Old 12-03-2005, 08:45 AM
Selph-Inflicted

I would recommend using 5 oz cloth on the bottom and sides. I put 2 oz on the deck, but 5 oz will be fine there also.