RC Airboats Discuss R/C Airboats here!

how do you waterproof your electronics?

Reply
Old 01-13-2007, 10:55 PM
  #1
saleens7
Thread Starter
 
saleens7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke pines, FL
Posts: 2,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default how do you waterproof your electronics?

im going to have two exposed servos...ive heard that they can be waterproofed...how would you do this??
saleens7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 07:26 PM
  #2
TERBObob
 
TERBObob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oelwein, IA
Posts: 3,176
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

Buy yourself some CORROSION X .
Then take your servos and RX apart . ( remove covers )
Then take the CORROSION X and soak the insides for about a minute ( this way , everything inside gets coated )
Then , take and pour the remaining ( that is left inside your servos/receiver ) and pour it BACK into the original container .
Then let hang UPSIDE down overnight to dry .

Reassemble your servos and RX and put back into your boat . Wha-la ... water-prrofed !

here is a link to a good deal on some right now :

http://www.mastonsrcmarine.com/My_Ho...les/Page5.html

Greatest stuff for water action RC since the invention of the radio gear !
TERBObob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 07:29 PM
  #3
saleens7
Thread Starter
 
saleens7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke pines, FL
Posts: 2,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

i already put silicone under the servo arm and in the seams of the servo....if i soaked corrosion X in the servo, wouldnt the motor get floddd in it??

the Rx will be in a radio box, thats already taken care of..
saleens7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 08:02 PM
  #4
TERBObob
 
TERBObob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oelwein, IA
Posts: 3,176
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

Yes .. it WILL get flooded , UNTIL you drain them . ( thats the idea so that EVERY part gets coated with the Corrosion X )
The silicone WILL give you problems ... believe me ..
Please RE-READ what I wrote above and then if you still have questions , please ask .
TERBObob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 09:20 PM
  #5
saleens7
Thread Starter
 
saleens7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke pines, FL
Posts: 2,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

yes, but i heard the motor inside will sease up if any corrosion-x gets in it....ill just coat the electrics in it, not the motor....
saleens7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 11:55 PM
  #6
89ram
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: blue rapids, KS
Posts: 2,603
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

saleens7, put your servos in balloons. tie the end shut around the wire. poke a pinhole to stretch over the servo output, then put the arm back on the servo.
89ram is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 12:56 AM
  #7
Ron Olson
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,463
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

I've used Aeroplate from Aerotrend Products and The Stuph. They are basically the same as Corrosion X. The price might seem a little high but you can do a lot of servos and recievers with one bottle and it's only the price of a cheap servo.
Water will get into everything, even if it's bagged and in a radio box. I've had a radio box full of pond water, drianed it out and immediately fueled up and ran again. It's even brought dead RX's back to life!
Ron Olson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 03:22 AM
  #8
martno1fan
 
martno1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,390
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

saleens do as turbobob says the corrosion x is used on full sized marine electronics and ive read ships that were sunk and boats that had electrics coated in it were fine after days under salt water ,the electrics that were missed got fried and corroded away!!.we dont get corrosion x here but ive found a similar product and im ordering some this week.it is also used on motors and moving parts too as it coats everything as said with a very fine film that is 100% water proof and it doesnt conduct electricity either so therefore is safe on electronics of any kind.protects against salt too!!.does what it says on the tin as they say,as said before the silicone does not work ask me how i know that one? also the baloon thing doesnt work well either been there done that ,far safer to coat with corrosionx you can also use the corrosionx grease instead i beleive but might be harder to coat everything that way.as ron says too ive read spraying unprotected servos and rx with it after a dunking has brought them back to life i lost my rx last week this is why im ordering this stuff as my box leaked as did the ******* baloon inside it with my rx in it [:@].10-15$$$ isnt much think of me its £15 here thats arround $30 !!.
martno1fan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 10:00 AM
  #9
89ram
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: blue rapids, KS
Posts: 2,603
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

terbobob, i clicked on the mastons link. but i don't know what to do to order?
89ram is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 10:09 AM
  #10
martno1fan
 
martno1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,390
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

try ebay there should be some on there if you do a search and its normally cheaper.lots of ebay shops sell things cheaper than most usual places in my experience!!.
martno1fan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 11:27 AM
  #11
LtDoc
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McAlester, OK
Posts: 1,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

'TERBObob' and Ron are both right. That stuff does work, but don't expect miracles. The problem with sealing servos is the 'sealing' part, NOT easy to do and they still work, lots of friction, you know? The best method of not getting water in the electronics is by... not getting water in the electronics. If you ever figure out a fool-proof way of doing that, and you will tell me about it first, WE will make a fortune!
- 'Doc
LtDoc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 11:33 AM
  #12
martno1fan
 
martno1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,390
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

i think i was right too lol but its ok ill let you off this time haha
martno1fan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 03:15 PM
  #13
saleens7
Thread Starter
 
saleens7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke pines, FL
Posts: 2,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

ok, corrosion X it is....but even though you say it will drian out of the motor, some may still get in it...besides, the motor can survive if it gets in any water, in fact, to break them in, your suppost to dunk them in water....

i wish i could put them in a radio box, but their placement behind the motor gives them no room..
saleens7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 11:54 PM
  #14
Ron Olson
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,463
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

You can break in a new set of brushes by dunking a running motor in water but the motor has to be dried and lubed immediately afterwards. That trick has been around for years and I did try it once.
Some have tried using products like Plasti-Dip also. It might work somewhat but is messy to work with.
Ron Olson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 08:00 AM
  #15
RS 38-40
 
RS 38-40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gobles, MI
Posts: 211
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

This link will take you to a site with a TIPS & INFO button at the top of the page . CLICK on it and then scroll down to WATERPROOFING INFO . There are three different How Tos . http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/MainPage.htm
Its nearly the same information as has already been posted .
RS 38-40 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 05:10 PM
  #16
saleens7
Thread Starter
 
saleens7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke pines, FL
Posts: 2,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

i think ill use the corrosion X though....ill need to take apart the servo once in a while and it would be good not to have to break the old coat of rubber and put on a new one every time i do that....
saleens7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 09:12 PM
  #17
kd7oir
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pomeroy, WA
Posts: 261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

B shure to use dielectric greese on your all connecters. It helps keep out contaminates and keeps them from oxidising too, besides keeping water out.
kd7oir is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 12:17 AM
  #18
saleens7
Thread Starter
 
saleens7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke pines, FL
Posts: 2,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

ok...thanks...
saleens7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2007, 09:33 AM
  #19
TERBObob
 
TERBObob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oelwein, IA
Posts: 3,176
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

Try this one :

http://www.mastonsrcmarine.com/My_Ho...es/Page36.html
TERBObob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 03:59 PM
  #20
dvonlangen
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ft., FL
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

It really isnt difficult to waterproof your electronics. First take a can of plastidip. Take your servos and take the servo horns off. After dunk the servo in the plastidip and let dry. With the reciever put it in a balloon and have the wires going through the open part. ziptie the balloon shut and squirt some silicone sealer in the hole. If your like me and too lazy to do this to the servos you can buy traxxas waterproof servos http://www.traxxas.com/products/acce...ies_servos.htm
As for overall waterproofing watch these vids:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=792xi...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iFTFP...9F38F&index=21

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LUSmK...9F38F&index=58
dvonlangen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 06:57 PM
  #21
Giggles13
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: , SK, CAPE VERDE
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

How do you get the reciever in a baloon i tried but i couldn't find a ballon with a big enough opening to get it inside.I don't really need it to be water proof so much as water resistant or more so snow resistant. Please help.
Giggles13 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 09:06 PM
  #22
jasperrc
 
jasperrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 395
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

You could also use small latex or rubber gloves.
jasperrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 11:04 PM
  #23
damfurst
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lewistown, MT
Posts: 437
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

The best way to waterproof rx's or esc's is to epoxy coat them. Offshore Electric sells this [link=http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/proddetail.php?prod=ose-dp270]epoxy[/link] which works well, has longer work time and will do several items. However, you can use just about any 2 part epoxy. You can either brush it on or I use the unused portion of a small zip tie to work it around all the connections. Either will work well. I understand that there is also a conformal epoxy spray, but don't know where you can find that. Once applied you hang your board up and let it dry and then you can put it back in the housing or leave it out if you want. I've not had any rx or esc burn out from water since I've been doing this. I think there's vids on youtube and tips written both in these forums and on OSE's as well.
damfurst is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 03:52 PM
  #24
Mr_Byte
 
Mr_Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 124
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

I once read that using beeswax was good, as you can pack it in to seal up, much like the inside of an epoxied ECU or such on a car, where even if it's only a blown transistor, you can't fix it due to the epoxy.

And Beeswax you can melt back out with hot water, or so they said. I'm planning on trying it soon.
Mr_Byte is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 09:38 PM
  #25
Vertical3-D
 
Vertical3-D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Myerstown, PA
Posts: 1,813
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: how do you waterproof your electronics?

I painted some of the dip in rubber coating they sell for tool handles on the board in my 2.4Ghz FASST Rx, it seemed to work well I don't know how wet it has gotten but it was in a boat that flipped 3 times and sat upside down in the water for a long time and still works perfectly, I'm sure it got wet just don't know if it got dunked, servos I just seal the seams in the case with CA and put a greased o-ring on the output shaft under the servo arm...seems to work well if they are not submerged more than a few minutes...but I use cheaper servos too so it's not a big deal if they get scraped its 12-15 bucks...I have used epoxy before too with good results...
Vertical3-D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:52 PM.