Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Choosing a new boat

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Choosing a new boat

Old 09-28-2011, 11:24 AM
cbraden0356

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Choosing a new boat

Need help choosing a new boat! i am new to boating. I want something that will work be reliable and be stabile in the water! i have a budget of about 1000 id like to stay under that but like i said i want something of good quality!any advice will help! i know nothing about boats!brushless or gas is prefered!
Old 09-28-2011, 12:19 PM
TCHedOff

Default RE: Choosing a new boat

I'm no expert by any means, but I DO have an opinion (or 3). I'd suggest you consider either a mono or cat style hull (in that order) for 1) stability and 2) all around water condiations. Stability is also related to the size of the hull- bigger is better, so look at hulls at least 3ft long.... and there are quite a few choices in the 4ft range.

Brushless vs gas (I own neither), but gas has longer run times and is the way I'd go for a hull the size were are talking. Electric power for a boat that size can get very expensive if you looking for any kind of speed.

With the budget you have you should be able to get most everything you need, and have something that runs 40-50's pretty easily.
Old 09-28-2011, 12:40 PM
cbraden0356

Thank you! im looking at the Exceed Racing FiberGlass V24 GHB 26CC Gas Powered. its 51 inches long. im worried that i have never hear of this company or how well it hold up with maintaince
Old 09-28-2011, 01:41 PM
rcguy1411