Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Duel motor speed controler?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Duel motor speed controler?

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2011, 08:23 AM
kbracing96

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Duel motor speed controler?

I'm brand new to this whole RC boat thing and been reading a bunch. Question is I have a "toy" rc boat with twin motors that shuts one off to make the boat turn. I'd like to convert it to brusheless motors and make it a lot faster, but haven't been able to find a ESC that has this duel speed kind of fuction for using no rudder. Anyone know what I'm looking for? Thanks!
Old 11-03-2011, 10:11 AM
hendocap

Default RE: Duel motor speed controler?

You have to run 1 esc per motor and maybe mix the 2 together ? Never heard of anyone doing that Brushless and honestly don't really understand why you would want to ? JMO
Old 11-03-2011, 10:52 AM
kbracing96

Because there is no rudder, the boat is currently steered by stopping the inside motor/prop.  To turn the boat to turn to the right, it stops the right prop and the left prop turns the boat. 

The boat is just a Cheap ebay special kinda thing.  I'm just looking for an easy way to make it faster and funner.
Old 11-03-2011, 11:15 AM
hendocap

I'm familiar how it work , just don't understand why you would want to improve on it ?
Old 11-03-2011, 11:34 AM
mfr02

Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts

I expect that since most brushless are still really forward only, and this is the norm with airplanes, a mixer intended for twin engine aircraft would do the job.
The ones that I am familiar with are for brushed motors and fully proportional ESCs.  This would give much better control with yours.
Old 11-03-2011, 02:38 PM
kbracing96

ORIGINAL: hendocap

I'm familiar how it work , just don't understand why you would want to improve on it ?