Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Diesel Power

Old 03-04-2012, 05:28 AM
speaker monkey

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Diesel Power

Hey All,

Im new to this forum and to the world of remote control, please be kind. Iam really interested in making my own remote control boat that uses a diesel engine. Itried to do a bit of research before Iposted and generally all Icould find was talk about old real diesel boats or replicating diesel boat sounds. It certainly doesn't seem to be the done thing. Ican already hear the responses to why I shouldn't persue this route: expensive (the cheapest engine Icould find was still over £100) + fuel, difficult, smelly, dirty, polluting, less torque options, dangerous, unrelaiable & unnecessary, However these reasons are yet to deter me (some even do the opposite). I'm a speaker builder by trade so Iam no stranger to the careful, fiddly & hands on design and Iused to build non-RC models when I was a kid. Plus I relish a challenge and the design and build is where Iwill get my kick. Building an off the shelf kit has no attraction to me although Iam sure it will give me a good grounding with what its all about.

"A speaker builder?" you say "surely you would be more at home trying an ellectrically powered one?" True, however Ialways feel that the world of electronics is a bit impersonal and Iprefer getting my hands dirty in other ways.

Aaanyway, what Iam really asking is for some direction / advice / links / discussion on where Ican get started with this, as Isaid before there seems to be a bit of a dearth of info on this subject.

All the best

monkey
Old 03-04-2012, 05:40 AM
1QwkSport2.5r

Received 76 Likes on 69 Posts
Default RE: Diesel Power

ORIGINAL: speaker monkey

Hey All,