RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Mounting the radio box

Reply
Old 05-22-2012, 07:10 PM
  #1
caddydaddy472
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Belle Chasse, LA
Posts: 64
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Mounting the radio box

What's the best way to mount a fiberglass radio box to a fiberglass hull? Someone told me to epoxy it, but if I ever need to remove the box to get to the transom, that would make it very difficult! Any suggestions?
caddydaddy472 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 07:57 AM
  #2
madmorgan
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: elmira, NY
Posts: 775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mounting the radio box



maybe glue in a square peice of balsa (to hull)  with a blind nut in each corner, drill 4 holes in bottom of the box that line up with the blind nuts before you put in the bolts that mount to above setup dab some clear silicone to help water proof.

madmorgan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 09:15 AM
  #3
caddydaddy472
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Belle Chasse, LA
Posts: 64
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mounting the radio box

That is a good idea.  Should I use balsa or a harder wood, then just use small screws to hold the box to the wood?
caddydaddy472 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 12:50 PM
  #4
madmorgan
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: elmira, NY
Posts: 775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mounting the radio box

balsa is lighter it is all up to you i guess i would set the blind nuts in and then ca glue em though if your going balsa route so they wont pull through.
madmorgan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 02:49 PM
  #5
subsinker
 
subsinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dwight, IL
Posts: 518
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mounting the radio box

Hi,

A word of advice. Don't use balsa, it is much too soft and will come apart. Use a harder wood to securely mount the radio box. Look at it this way, if balsa was a good use for boats, the 5" rails would be made of them.

Pete
subsinker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 02:54 PM
  #6
huck1199
 
huck1199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,550
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mounting the radio box

Use velcro!
huck1199 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 04:47 PM
  #7
caddydaddy472
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Belle Chasse, LA
Posts: 64
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mounting the radio box


Quote:
ORIGINAL: huck1199

Use velcro!
Iwould, but I'm not sure if it'd be stable enough to not allow the box to wiggle when the servos move.

caddydaddy472 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 01:27 PM
  #8
caddydaddy472
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Belle Chasse, LA
Posts: 64
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mounting the radio box

So, here's my solution to mounting the radio box, and making it easily removeable.  I took a 1/2 inch thick piece of red oak, gorilla glued it in place and will use some screws to attach the radio box to the wood.  It's not the prettiest thing, but the radio box covers it up!


caddydaddy472 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:08 PM.