RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

kingtec k80 turbine in boat

Reply
Old 05-25-2012, 01:44 PM
  #1
wildbet04
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default kingtec k80 turbine in boat

anyone know of any place that could help me try to but this turbine engine in a 55" dumas scarab? and do you think it will work?
wildbet04 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 08:11 PM
  #2
Justaddwata
Moderator
 
Justaddwata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: RI-USA, RI
Posts: 5,961
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: kingtec k80 turbine in boat

Would not be my first choice of hulls to do it in (or my first choice of turbine either). Thrust only turbine setups are tricky in a boat and the only builds where I have seen it done have been in a Canard (worked very well) and a cat (worked well too). As far as a deep vee - might be a bit tricky as the hull is tall and adapting it to work with thrust will be a challenge.

Best approach IMO would be to use a[link=http://www.mhzusa.com/Gasturbines_c43.htm] turboprop turbine [/link](there are 2 or 3 on the market for marine use) and running it as the full scale boats do where the boat is propelled mostly by prop thrust through a gearbox.

Also - a Dumas Vee - Can I ask why you picked this hull??

You might call Remmy at Aeromarine - Believe he did a thrust turbine cat not so long ago.
Justaddwata is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 10:06 AM
  #3
wildbet04
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: kingtec k80 turbine in boat

i'm new in the boats and found this 55" boat hull that was new they were just looking to get reid of so i got it and a friend of mine his brother is into jets and gave me a kingtech k80 as he had a few spares was just thinking of trying to put the two together from my understanding it's a turbine prop motor will know more about it when i see it hopefully today just thought i would put some feelers out to see if it was possiple...
wildbet04 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 11:36 AM
  #4
Justaddwata
Moderator
 
Justaddwata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: RI-USA, RI
Posts: 5,961
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: kingtec k80 turbine in boat

I am sure it is possible - just not sure it would be real effective - I would probably look at a smaller cat that might move easier with the thrust of the turbine.
Justaddwata is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 06:15 AM
  #5
cyclops2
 
cyclops2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Frenchtown, NJ
Posts: 2,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: kingtec k80 turbine in boat


Deciptive is another condition to consider. Geared turbines have 2 thrusts to deal with unfortunately. prop thrust below the COG. & the turbine gas thrust aboce the COG. tricky & unstabile in sharp turns at WOT.
cyclops2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:27 AM.