Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Beginning in Boat Building

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Beginning in Boat Building

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2014, 04:08 PM
Kamilkaze13

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginning in Boat Building

Hello.

The other day i was looking at boat building and im looking to buy and build a scale rc boat. I want something that looks like a yatch or sportfishing boat. Something like this: http://www.hobbylinc.com/htm/dum/dum1205.htm but not that expensive. I am looking for a kit with no electroncics. Is it hard to build a boat? I have no experience in boat building but a very handy dad so difficulty not too much of a problem. What would i need apart from the kit? My budget is about 80 canadian dollars for the kit only. Any suggestions and tips would be appreciated.
Old 11-04-2014, 04:48 PM
blizard05

Check out the Dumas kits
Old 11-04-2014, 05:03 PM
Kamilkaze13

I checked out this one; http://www.greathobbies.com/producti...rod_id=DUM1707 . What would i need to build it tools wise. Can i make this a running rc, its a static model. Thanks.
Old 11-05-2014, 05:31 AM
Kamilkaze13

???
Old 11-05-2014, 01:20 PM
Micromodder

No that kit is designed to be a static model, it uses a solid block of balsa wood for the hull instead of having a open interior.

Dumas has a section for discounted boats on their website.
http://www.dumasproducts.com/index.p...gqt3ag4tqqs962

If you can wait then this might be a good option but its not on the market yett
http://www.dumasproducts.com/product...oducts_id=1132
Old 11-05-2014, 02:53 PM
Kamilkaze13

I guess ill just wait. The sportfisherman one is the the one. What else would i need apart from the motor, ESC and servos. A prop? Or does it come with the prop and the shaft and everything? And thanks a lot.
Old 11-06-2014, 12:15 AM
Hydro Junkie

Received 130 Likes on 123 Posts