Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Electronics question - Slowing down a boats propeller / speed

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Electronics question - Slowing down a boats propeller / speed

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2014, 02:34 PM
pauldub

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electronics question - Slowing down a boats propeller / speed

Hi, I am brand new to RC boats but I am sure this question is rarely asked, how to make a boat go SLOWER! I want to use a RC boat to drag along a sonar device for fishing (tennis ball sized device), however any of the boats available in the shops, that are entry level priced, are all designed to go as fast as possible, most of them with just one speed setting of MAX. I am wondering if its possible to slow them down. Wither its somehow to lower the voltage to the motor by soldering something on, or maybe messing with the prop (bigger or smaller or something). So has anyone got any ideas? Also if I was able to make the prop spin slower using electronic solution would that make the battery last longer? My aim is to have a slow and steady moving, much quieter boat, so I don't scare the fishies.
Thanks for your time and suggestions
Old 11-17-2014, 12:14 AM
w3bby

Something like this might be a solution then...
Old 11-17-2014, 03:14 AM
mfr02

Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts