Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Question about boat motor+gearbox

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Question about boat motor+gearbox

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2015, 05:27 AM
malteser2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about boat motor+gearbox

Hi, I am new to scale model building.

I've built a 1m scale ship using balsa wood. I will be using one motor with a 50:1 gearbox. It does around 320rpm at 12v and 160rpm at 6v. Would the ship be very slow with this motor and gearbox combination ? I can use 30mm or 40mm propellers.
Old 12-01-2015, 09:55 AM
mfr02

Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts

It will be incredibly slow, deeply frustrating and boring. That kind of RPM is OK for paddlers, but not for props.
A 1M boat with a 40mm prop needs something like a direct drive 545 motor running on 6 volts if it is a displacement model, more volts and a smaller prop if it is going to be a fast boat. A model needs a faster rotating prop than the real thing to give the appropriate looking speed. (multiply RPM by the square root of the scale).
Old 12-01-2015, 10:04 AM
malteser2

I don't need my model ship to be fast, since it is not a speed boat of course. Any idea how much RPM would be needed to make it look appropriate please?
Old 12-02-2015, 02:24 AM
mfr02

In about 30 years of boating, I've never had a thought about putting numbers on prop RPM, but oddly, matching the motor, hull, prop and power supply has never been a problem. Without knowing what your model is of, and its scale, any reply is pure guesswork, but -
A 1:100 destroyer, real props turning at @300, model props need to turn at least 3000. Small prop, turns fast, long narrow water column,
A 1:100 freighter of the same length might have a prop that turns at @80, model turns at 800. Large prop, moves a lot of water each turn, but not far.