Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

OS MAX-S 30 Engine

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

OS MAX-S 30 Engine

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2016, 10:40 AM
Mart3

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OS MAX-S 30 Engine

Hi All. I am very new to boats and nitro engines however my son and I are learning together! We have managed to aquire the above engine but it has been stood a while and we are struggling to get it started. All is free and fuel flows and we have managed the odd splutter which is a start.... I .haven't refreshed the glow plug that came with the engine. It does glow but I was wondering if someone could recommend heat and thread length just in case it's the wrong one. The other issue is that I am quickly flooding the engine. If anyone can recommend a start up approach that works for them I would gladly take on any advice. Many thanks in advance..
Old 10-24-2016, 04:36 AM
Bill Diedrich

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Did the engine come with any instructions? If not with the engine flooding, it seems to be an indication that the high speed needle is set incorrectly.
First never try to start a flooded engine with a starter belt as you can bend the con rod, remove the glow plug, turn the engine over until very little fuel is coming out of the plug hole, replace the glow plug. Screw the high speed needle valve in completely and then back it out approx. 2 3/4 to 3 turns out, this is a good starting position for the engine, if the engine still floods, repeat above procedure of plug removal and before attempting to start the engine adjust the high speed needle by screwing it in approx. 1/8th turn. You also haven't stated what fuel you are using 5% - 10% - 15% nitro content, also does the plug have an idle bar on it or not, most marine engines don't function very well with idle bar type plugs.