Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Motor, Esc and Battery Recommendations for Bait Boat

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Motor, Esc and Battery Recommendations for Bait Boat

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2017, 08:12 AM
Yellowfin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Motor, Esc and Battery Recommendations for Bait Boat

Hi All and a Happy New Year!

I am new to RC boats and been and avid saltwater fisherman for many years and have been interested in bringing my bait a longer distance from shore with the help of a RC boat. I have spent many hours reading and searching the internet for information and have settled on a design that will be able to maneuver thru the waves to reach areas from shore that cannot reached by casting.

I would like some expert help in determining a good starting point for motor selection, prop size and other areas where I feel somewhat over whelmed with the selection of components on the market and my lack of knowledge.

I will try and be as descriptive as possible and I am sure there will be questions that I may not be able to answer.

The following is a description of the boat or sub as some might call it. I have attached an unfinished preliminary drawing for perspective.

Overall length 45”, width 12” height 11”, weight of shell 10 lbs., with electronics and ballast 24 -28 lbs. when complete. The hull is 31” from bow to stern. Like a deep v hull but wider for self righting as most of the weight will be in the bottom portion of the hull. Somewhat like a submarine with a deep vee hull. The compartment with be totally sealed to avoid water entry. A motor cooling system will be installed. Being in saltwater the need for marine tolerated electronics.