Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

New Builder - RC Fishing Boat

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

New Builder - RC Fishing Boat

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2019, 05:22 AM
JFSJR

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New Builder - RC Fishing Boat

I've been building RC trucks for years, but now that I'm in Florida, I wanted to build an RC boat that can get my fishing line out in the gulf from shore. The idea is to just get it out in the deeper water. I'm brand new to boats, but I'm pretty good with my hands and work best with wood. I don't have a lot of money to spend so I will want to fabricate as much as I can. The boat is based on the free plans "Wild Thing 48", but will be customized to have bigger sides.

The idea is to attach a fishing line with Velcro to the boat. Tow the line out to the deeper water. If I get a hit or snag on the way out the line breaks away from boat. Then I can real the line in with the rod.

I'm starting my build as a cardboard and poster board model. I would love to hear comments, suggestions, and what has (has not) worked for you. How to fabricate drive shaft, rudder assembly, ballast, etc.

Thanks
Old 08-06-2019, 10:08 AM
JFSJR

The idea is to go out about 200 yards or less (don't have much more then that on real). The boat is 15" wide and 48" long. I've been told that range may (will) be a problem. Has anyone else used / built a boat for fishing? Ponds and lakes I'm sure... but what about bays, gulf, or ocean?
Old 08-07-2019, 03:13 PM
Tidnab
My Feedback: (51)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts