Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Nitro VS. Electric Boats?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Nitro VS. Electric Boats?

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2006, 08:46 PM
Monster57

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nitro VS. Electric Boats?

What do you guys prefer, nitro or electric boats? I am looking for a fun boat around 30-40 inches but do not know which to get, nitro or electric. I am new to boats, but not new to RC. I have little experience with planes and experience with nitro cars. Would a nitro boat be okay for a first boat? What are the pros and cons of nitro? What about electric? Thanks for the help.

Also, if you guys could recommend boats that's be great![8D]
Old 06-24-2006, 11:24 PM
e-sailpilot86

Default RE: Nitro VS. Electric Boats?

I'd prefer electric since there are typically fewer restrictions on where you can operate. Nitro/Electric things are somewhat obvious... electric = less fuss, nitro = more fuss. If you're just looking for a cruiser and nothing performance oriented, just go electric without too much thought into the electronics that go into it (they vary greatly). If you're going after something specifically performance oriented, then I'd say you need help making a choice... electric and nitro. I say go electric. I don't necessarily see an issue with getting nitro or electric as a first boat... just be prepared for what you get. Don't forget about gasoline boats, but you're looking at bigger $$$$. Oh, and sailboats... unless you get no wind.

Here's what I'd want:
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXMDJ4**&P=0
it's brushless... meaning zero hassle with the motor. (hopefully)

Oh, BTW, you wanna build or just buy and run it? [sm=confused.gif]
Old 06-25-2006, 12:01 AM
Monster57

ORIGINAL: e-sailpilot86

Oh, BTW, you wanna build or just buy and run it? [sm=confused.gif]