Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Senior Project custom nitro drag boat

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Senior Project custom nitro drag boat

Old 02-04-2009, 02:28 AM
sportsfreak90

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Senior Project custom nitro drag boat

Hey,
This is my first time on these forums so I'm still new..

For my senior project, I decided to build a replica drag boat of my cousins 18' V-Drive Drag boat.... I wanted to make the boat 1/12th scale and be rc nitro powered... I settled with going nitro only because i've always preferred nitro over electric.... I have almost 80 hours into the plug...and am getting very close to being able to pop a mold off the plug. I should be doing the mold this friday. Let me know what you think...its a different style boat that I haven't seen produced yet so.....yeahh its kinda cool I guess. The maroonish color you see was just spray paint so I could see little dimples or spots that still needed worked to flow with the rest of the boat... Just sprayed it again today with more primer, in hopes of only having one more coat needed after I fix two small spots.

What would you guys suggest doing as far as buying all the parts to make the boat run and operate? I need everything....controller to radio's to the nitro engine and everything... All I have pretty much is the empty boat. I was thinking about buying an Aquacraft Supervee 27 Nitro because I could get it for a reasonable price and it included everything I wanted....price out the door would be about $305 with some extra things like a rechargable glow plug, etc... I attached some pictures just to give you an idea of what i'm building.. thanks for any help.

-Kris
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay73456.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	28.2 KB
ID:	1127166   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx74609.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	35.9 KB