RC Car Engines Talk about rc car nitro engines and gas engines

Kyosho KE21R issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2018, 06:21 PM
kwhunter

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kyosho KE21R issues

I run this engine on the TKI3 RS buggy.
I'm not very experienced with glow engines, but this one is definitely very inconsistent. I broke the engine in, and after that I changed the venture, as per the book; struggled to set it up and finally it was running ok; next time I started it it will quit; struggled again, fixed it, ran it a couple times with no issues. Today I started it again, and it will shut down by itself; either under acceleration, or idling. I leaned the LSN until it idled rough, then back it up and it makes no difference, it will shut off after running a little while. Also, at high speed it will shut down unexpectedly.
I sealed the carburetor shaft and the clamping screw, as well as the back plate so there is no leak.
Any ideas?
Thanks.
Old 07-26-2018, 05:22 AM
1QwkSport2.5r

Received 76 Likes on 69 Posts

It’s probably too lean. Lean engines will quit, rich engines will rarely quit unless they are super loaded up. Changing the glow plug helps sometimes too.
Old 07-28-2018, 11:26 AM
kwhunter

It pumps lots of smoke, either at acceleration from idle or when I squeeze the throttle; maybe it's not yet broken in as I have about 2/3 of a gallon through the engine
Old 07-28-2018, 01:22 PM
1QwkSport2.5r

Originally Posted by kwhunter
It pumps lots of smoke, either at acceleration from idle or when I squeeze the throttle; maybe it's not yet broken in as I have about 2/3 of a gallon through the engine