Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

How do I make a remote control car from scratch?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

How do I make a remote control car from scratch?

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2010, 08:26 PM
ninjaburrito

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do I make a remote control car from scratch?

This might sound really stupid in an RC forum or to all those experienced people out there. But basically I want to learn about remote control cars, airplanes, helicopters and thought learning how to make a remote control car would be a good start. From what I've learned, since im a beginner, making an electric one would be my best choice since its the easiest. So can anyone tell me if there is some sort of guide or what I should read upon? As of now I don't really know anything about circuitry and stuff like that and don't really know where to start.
Old 10-10-2010, 01:44 AM
sheograth

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: How do I make a remote control car from scratch?

Your best bet would be to buy an entry level electric RC car kit like something from Tamiya. They come with great instructions and you learn all about the various parts of the car while building it. You buy your own radio system, motor, speed controller, and battery separately. Depending on whether you want on or off road, truck, buggy, etc there are lots of choices.
Old 10-10-2010, 07:47 AM
johndavis