Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

What is the fastest stock rtr nitro?

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2011, 10:47 AM
buknut

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What is the fastest stock rtr nitro?

Any ideas?

Old 04-06-2011, 10:59 AM
My Feedback: (4)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: What is the fastest stock rtr nitro?

CEN had a touring car they advertised as 74.3MPH capable. It used a funny looking stroker .15 that was in a big block case. TRX also has a couple that can hit freeway speeds, the JATO around 60 the 4-TEC around 65, but getting them there requires experience and a total disregard for engine longevity.
Old 04-06-2011, 11:02 AM
sloppyG

jato 3.3, nitro 4tec 3.3, losi speed nitro

all will be way faster than is useful
Old 04-06-2011, 11:16 AM
buknut

im new to nitro really and i was looking at getting a second car, but wanted something really fast.
is it worth looking at something like the cars suggested, or could i spend the money on my hyper 7 and make that quicker?
my jp-4 will be here tomorrow, is it worth spending money on a 2 speed, a new engine when this one packs up etc, or am i best of spending money on something quicker to start with?
Old 04-06-2011, 11:33 AM
sloppyG

the high speeds aren't really very usable,

you need a lot of space, and it's gotta be paved.

at 50-60 mph your RC goes by you and turns into a spec in the distance in no time, and at those speeds you can't really turn or stop very well. it's like piloting a 6lb missile that's only semi controlled

I'd rather have a controllable 40 mph, in my experience much faster than that and you're limited in where you can run and what you can do with it
Old 04-06-2011, 11:40 AM
tommygun32

AS 378 stated, to do this you will need "a total disregard for engine longevity."