Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

total noob-which direction

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2011, 09:07 PM
powderhound

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default total noob-which direction

Hello everyone, I'll start off by saying that I am a complete stranger to the world of rc cars but am very interested in getting started. Could someone offer me some advice on at least which type of vehicle would best suit my needs. Basically I am a beginner who stumbled upon rc cars by selling dirt to a guy who was building a track for his son which made me think back to my friend who had the hornet and frog and stuff, then I googled rc cars and here I am. I have a small piece of land my company uses to dump landscape debris and such. It has dirt piles, piles of rocks, ruts, etc. I also have a bulldozer onsite to play around with. My question is what would you guys suggest would work best for basic fun (i.e buggy, 4wd truck, rock crawler, etc.)with no interest in anything formal(i.e competitions, races) for this type of terrain. I would like to spend about 250-350 for something that is RTR. I really love the Losi mini 8ight but am not sure it would be right for my situation. Thanks in advance!
Old 11-08-2011, 10:47 PM
ThunderbirdJunkie
My Feedback: (3)

Default RE: total noob-which direction

Powder...check out the Traxxas Stampede 4x4 or the HPI Savage XS Flux. They're both a bit higher than the price range you stated...but you gotta pay to play.

The Mini 8ight looks cool, but it's not got much ground clearance. Not that that means much, but it should be a wicked car either way.
Old 11-09-2011, 12:00 AM
quietnas1

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Stampede is a great beginner truck. So is the Savage Flux or Savage x 4.6 depending if you want nitro our electric.
Old 11-09-2011, 12:07 AM
ThunderbirdJunkie