Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Complete newbie question - Traxxas Slash 4x4 race setup

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Complete newbie question - Traxxas Slash 4x4 race setup

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2011, 08:48 AM
dwilt72

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Complete newbie question - Traxxas Slash 4x4 race setup

I have flown RC airplanes for 4 years, and just recently purchased a Traxxas Slash 4x4 truck that I am doing some racing with. Nothing real serious (rookie class right now), but I wanted to find out some basic mods I could make to get it to handle a little better. I have practiced on the local track and am getting better, but wonder if there are some small tweeks (nothing radical yet) that I could make to get it to handle the track better. So far I have added the sway bars and a motor fan. On the sway bars, I have started with both silver bars, then a few days ago, I changed it to a black front bar and a silver back bar. It seems to handle a little better, however, the main issue is when I get on the throttle the back end wants to fish-tail on me. I'm working on trying to "feather" the throttle and figure out how fast I can go in certain sections of the track, etc, but if I could get it to handling just a touch better I would do better. The track surface that I race and practice on is a hard clay surface with some pretty big jumps (waist high).