RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

How can led lights put into my RC car?

Reply
Old 02-20-2012, 10:56 PM
  #1
kitson
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default How can led lights put into my RC car?

I have an idea that is to put the led lights into my rc car,it may be so cool.But I don't know more about it.I want to buy some led lights,but I just find some like the one on the page http://www.ervan.cn/Products/L06G-do...d-LED-tube.htm .That's too big!How can I find some led lights fit rc cars,and how to put them into my car?Thanks for helping me!
kitson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 01:03 AM
  #2
quietnas1
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MIAMI, FL
Posts: 2,308
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How can led lights put into my RC car?

Hope this helps.
http://www.rc-lights.com/
quietnas1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 03:05 AM
  #3
xmod3563
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: , TX
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How can led lights put into my RC car?

The biggest piece of advice I can give you is GET A BODY REAMER. Imo, Body Reamers are 100x better than power drills at making precise, custom sized holes.

Installing LED's is actually super easy. The video below gives a pretty good overview but he uses a power drill while I think its much easier to use a body reamer.

Also, you don't have to make our own LED kit if you don't want to. There's a lot of good LED kits on Ebay, like this one [link=http://www.ebay.com/itm/Yeah-Racing-Dark-Drifter-6-Slots-LED-Lights-Kit-RC-/190618262906?pt=Radio_Control_Parts_Accessories&hash=item2c61bbdd7a#ht_1086wt_1051]HERE[/link]

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IoI42U9AGi0[/youtube]
xmod3563 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 01:06 PM
  #4
rclighthouse
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: AuroraIL
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How can led lights put into my RC car?

Hi. Putting LEDlights on your car is quite easy. Check out www.rclighthouse.com . These are easy to mount and are quite durable. Hope this helps. Lee
rclighthouse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 01:09 PM
  #5
rclighthouse
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: AuroraIL
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How can led lights put into my RC car?

Thanks for the link xmod3563 . That linkyou posted is to our Yeah Racing drifter set up which is a great set up. Different flahing modes and interchangeable leds. The reamer is also highly recommended for mounting the LED's holders. Since a drill can dance around maring your body. Not only that it is hard to get it exactley centered. You don't want to know how many times before we started using a reamer we'd have one headlight a half inch higher than the other. lol
rclighthouse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 02:17 PM
  #6
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How can led lights put into my RC car?

depends on voltage, but I've hooked 2 3V white LED's(I got like 100 for $10 from china last time I ordered) up in series with a 100 ohm resistor(and if more are needed you can hook more up in parallel I have 8 LEDs on my SCX10 being powered this way) and connected it to http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1210 to be able to control the lights remotely which is just pluged in the 3rd channel of the RX (assuming you have a 3channel radio).
If you want them on whenever the RC has power you can just hook them straight the the RX's battery slot
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 06:24 PM
  #7
ImANoob
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: , NC
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How can led lights put into my RC car?

I posted a question like this in the detailing section and got no response haha. Too bad i didnt ask and look here before i installed them (which was earlier today) But i love how mine look. Will be posting pics soon
ImANoob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 02:08 PM
  #8
ImANoob
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: , NC
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How can led lights put into my RC car?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: SyCo_VeNoM

depends on voltage, but I've hooked 2 3V white LED's(I got like 100 for $10 from china last time I ordered) up in series with a 100 ohm resistor(and if more are needed you can hook more up in parallel I have 8 LEDs on my SCX10 being powered this way) and connected it to http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1210 to be able to control the lights remotely which is just pluged in the 3rd channel of the RX (assuming you have a 3channel radio).
If you want them on whenever the RC has power you can just hook them straight the the RX's battery slot
What does that item in the link do? And how would i connect the lights directley to my Rustler VXL because right now my lights are hooked up to a battery taped to my car's body lol...

ImANoob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 03:25 PM
  #9
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How can led lights put into my RC car?

well its a 3rd channel controllable switch. So if you have a 3rd channel button on the radio it would enable you to turn it on and off remotely.
I forgot that pollux thing also needs a servo wire (most hobby shops sell em pretty cheap) so basically it would plug into channel 3 on the RX and be able to flip em off or on with the push of a button. I've made 2 and they work pretty good so far. I believe they can drive 3Amps worth of LED's too, but most I hooked up were 8.
But if the radio don't have a channel 3 than the plugging em into the rx is the best option IMO

BTW which lights do you have? if its the ones that run on 9V the thing I linked will not work
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 05:05 PM
  #10
ImANoob
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: , NC
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How can led lights put into my RC car?

Mine run 12v haha and i just hooked them up to alkaline batteries. I was wondering how to hook them to the car for a power source (can I?) And i want to get a switch (If i cant hook up to car) but can you link me one i cant find one. Also I have the Rustler VXL that came with the transmitter before 2.4ghz one came out so i think i only have 2 channels
ImANoob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 05:38 PM
  #11
SyCo_VeNoM
 
SyCo_VeNoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 12,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How can led lights put into my RC car?

yup thats 2 channel

12V? sheesh I'm guessing those are the ones for airplanes that hobbypartz sells. unfortunately 95% chance you can't make them run off 6V's (I never saw them personally)

as for a general switch thats pretty easy get any SPST (radio shack sells them) and cut one of the LED wire's and solder it in to put it between the battery, and LED's
SyCo_VeNoM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 06:07 PM
  #12
ImANoob
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: , NC
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How can led lights put into my RC car?

Yeah i know how to connect it i just cant find one online and these arnt meant for RC ahha
ImANoob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:47 PM
  #13
CabbageFarts
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: , AK
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How can led lights put into my RC car?

Stupid idea. you're of coursean idiot!!!
CabbageFarts is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 05:41 PM
  #14
Edward1234
 
Edward1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Now that's not very nice
Edward1234 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 06:44 PM
  #15
collector1231
Moderator
 
collector1231's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A place in a place.
Posts: 4,101
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Reviving threads from the dead!!! I'm totally okay with it, but if Foxy decides to pop in (no FNAF joke intended), he might not like that. Just make sure to read the date of the last post before posting in a thread.
collector1231 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:57 PM.