Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Pistol grip vs. regular transmitter

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2012, 02:09 PM
fun4oli

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pistol grip vs. regular transmitter

I am a newbie to RC cars. I have a RTR Redcat Tornado.

I guess all RCcars come with pistol grips. However, I also fly RCplanes (currently all RTF) and eventually want to buy my own transmitter and have all new models be run via that transmitter.

So if I would buy a new car in the future, is it definitely much, much better to use a pistol grip transmitter for an RC car, or could I just as well use a regular transmitter with two x/y sticks?
Old 04-29-2012, 02:53 PM
proanti1
My Feedback: (2)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Pistol grip vs. regular transmitter

In my opinion, pistol grip transmitters feel more natural for surface use. You don't have to move your fingers too far when making snap maneuvers.
Old 04-29-2012, 02:55 PM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

ORIGINAL: proanti1

In my opinion, pistol grip transmitters feel more natural for surface use. You don't have to move your fingers too far when making snap maneuvers.
agreed.
the only surface models that I would use a stick transmitter for would be a rock crawler...and only if it had extra stuff like a dig/winch/lockable diffs ect.
Old 04-29-2012, 03:19 PM
SyCo_VeNoM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

only use stick for tracked vehicles like tanks personally
Old 04-29-2012, 03:50 PM
JohnP2

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

+1

You need to be quick on surface, and the "pistol grip" provides that.While stick seems to provide more precision (to those who are adept with it), with surface you are constantly changing speed/direction. The pistol grip exponentiates the stick's ergonomic design.
Old 04-29-2012, 07:55 PM
The_Shark

Received 1 Like on 1 Post